SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Frogstitching Overlocked Seams

Viewed 6726 times
Posted by: Sew4Fun
photo

 
 
About Sew4Fun starstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/23/04
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 224 people
tips added: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/16/06 8:20 PM
Last Updated: 9/16/12 3:24 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 41 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
Unpicking or frogstitching a 4-thread overlocked/ serged seam can be time consuming. After many years I finally worked out the secret. :)

1. From the right side, run a quick-unpick under the upper looper threads and cut them along the entire length of the seam. It is VERY important that you only cut the upper looper thread and not the lower looper thread as well.

Step 1

2. Flip your garment over, and from wrong side pull on the lower looper thread. It will unravel as one long thread. Pull the entire seam undone.

Step 2

3. Flip your garment back to the right side and now pull on the two needle threads. Again they will unravel as two long threads.

Step 3

4. Lastly, run your finger nail along the seam edge to remove all the cut upper looper threads which are left.

Step 4

Voila! A frogstitched, overlocked seam in under a minute!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


17 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Judy Williment said...
Now that is just brilliant - I HATE unpicking overlocked seams, but this method has got to be at least ten times faster than the way I've been doing it all these years. Thank you!
1/16/06 8:54 PM
Cloud9 said...
Hi Sew4Fun, Five Gold Stars. Thank you so much for sharing this tip. For the first time ever, I'm looking forward to my next rip-it. Funny thing, I had to google "frogstitched" to find out what the word meant--what a cute term.
1/16/06 10:11 PM
Bassoon said...
I agree - just brilliant idea that is definitely worth five gold stars. Thank you! I'm looking forward to my next unlocking of the overlocking!
1/17/06 0:05 AM
Kris O said...
I knew it had to be something like starting with one of the loopers. You've explained it perfectly. Thanks for the pictures!
1/18/06 7:26 PM
kathi s said...
Thank you! You've saved everyone a lot of work and time! I am printing out your tip and filing it with my serger.
1/19/06 1:26 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
I messed up a serged seam last night and used this tip to undo it. Love the "frogstitch" term, I had never heard that before! Anyway, it worked like a charm, and I was able to undo the seam in record time. Thank you!!!! -Ann
1/19/06 3:57 PM
inkyannie said...
Geez, so much better thatn the way I've been doing it. Thanks so much. Think I will print it too.
1/19/06 7:52 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
I have to tell you - I just used your tip and it works like a charm. You can rip out those serged seams pretty quickly. I have one of those surgical steel seam rippers (the ones with the replaceable blades) and I could just hold that seam down and rip through it pretty quickly and the other seams just pull right out in one long swoop. Thanks again for this one.
1/25/06 10:21 AM
Sew4Fun said...
You're most wecome! I'm glad so many people found this tip useful. We all have to frogstitch (unfortunately), but at least with this method it's over quickly. :)
1/26/06 3:17 AM
cboots said...
Thank you for a very useful tip! I (regrettably) will probably have to use this one a lot.
1/26/06 4:22 PM
ssssdeb said...
Thanks! This will definitely help next time I need to rip out serged stitches.
5/4/09 4:18 PM
Sheron said...
Thank you and heaven for this concise tip. I am very appreciative. Good Energy and Harmony in your life.
3/3/10 2:55 PM
sky said...
I just favorited this as I spent a good chunk of time this morning taking off a waistband that I decided to change. On my next serged seam to undo I will definitely try this!
3/3/11 3:37 PM
moewolf said...
AMAZING ... thank you Sew4fun for sharing this. Where have you been all my surging life?! This tip is worth hours wasted ripping seams. I knew there had to be a way, but never could figure it out on my own. The photo is priceless .. but didn't know to click on the tiny picture beside Web Site/ULR at top of this page, until I did it by accident really.
2/15/12 7:41 PM
Elona said...
What a great tutorial! Wowza. Many thanks.
2/28/12 3:21 PM
tigergirl said...
Excellent! Thank you so much.
3/1/12 7:08 PM
KathleenS said...
Thanks so much Belinda! The pictures are particularly helpful.
4/25/12 2:06 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Veronica Pocketbook

Veronica Pocketbook

Buy Now
Chelsea

Chelsea

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.