Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Frogstitching Overlocked Seams (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 6296 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 41 people   
Posted by: Sew4Fun
photo
About Sew4Fun starstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/23/04
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 223 people
tips added: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/16/06 8:20 PM
Last Updated: 9/16/12 3:24 AM
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
Unpicking or frogstitching a 4-thread overlocked/ serged seam can be time consuming. After many years I finally worked out the secret. :)

1. From the right side, run a quick-unpick under the upper looper threads and cut them along the entire length of the seam. It is VERY important that you only cut the upper looper thread and not the lower looper thread as well.

Step 1

2. Flip your garment over, and from wrong side pull on the lower looper thread. It will unravel as one long thread. Pull the entire seam undone.

Step 2

3. Flip your garment back to the right side and now pull on the two needle threads. Again they will unravel as two long threads.

Step 3

4. Lastly, run your finger nail along the seam edge to remove all the cut upper looper threads which are left.

Step 4

Voila! A frogstitched, overlocked seam in under a minute!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Judy Williment said...
Now that is just brilliant - I HATE unpicking overlocked seams, but this method has got to be at least ten times faster than the way I've been doing it all these years. Thank you!
1/16/06 8:54 PM
Cloud9 said...
Hi Sew4Fun, Five Gold Stars. Thank you so much for sharing this tip. For the first time ever, I'm looking forward to my next rip-it. Funny thing, I had to google "frogstitched" to find out what the word meant--what a cute term.
1/16/06 10:11 PM
Bassoon said...
I agree - just brilliant idea that is definitely worth five gold stars. Thank you! I'm looking forward to my next unlocking of the overlocking!
1/17/06 0:05 AM
Kris O said...
I knew it had to be something like starting with one of the loopers. You've explained it perfectly. Thanks for the pictures!
1/18/06 7:26 PM
kathi s said...
Thank you! You've saved everyone a lot of work and time! I am printing out your tip and filing it with my serger.
1/19/06 1:26 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
I messed up a serged seam last night and used this tip to undo it. Love the "frogstitch" term, I had never heard that before! Anyway, it worked like a charm, and I was able to undo the seam in record time. Thank you!!!! -Ann
1/19/06 3:57 PM
inkyannie said...
Geez, so much better thatn the way I've been doing it. Thanks so much. Think I will print it too.
1/19/06 7:52 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
I have to tell you - I just used your tip and it works like a charm. You can rip out those serged seams pretty quickly. I have one of those surgical steel seam rippers (the ones with the replaceable blades) and I could just hold that seam down and rip through it pretty quickly and the other seams just pull right out in one long swoop. Thanks again for this one.
1/25/06 10:21 AM
Sew4Fun said...
You're most wecome! I'm glad so many people found this tip useful. We all have to frogstitch (unfortunately), but at least with this method it's over quickly. :)
1/26/06 3:17 AM
cboots said...
Thank you for a very useful tip! I (regrettably) will probably have to use this one a lot.
1/26/06 4:22 PM
ssssdeb said...
Thanks! This will definitely help next time I need to rip out serged stitches.
5/4/09 4:18 PM
Sheron said...
Thank you and heaven for this concise tip. I am very appreciative. Good Energy and Harmony in your life.
3/3/10 2:55 PM
sky said...
I just favorited this as I spent a good chunk of time this morning taking off a waistband that I decided to change. On my next serged seam to undo I will definitely try this!
3/3/11 3:37 PM
moewolf said...
AMAZING ... thank you Sew4fun for sharing this. Where have you been all my surging life?! This tip is worth hours wasted ripping seams. I knew there had to be a way, but never could figure it out on my own. The photo is priceless .. but didn't know to click on the tiny picture beside Web Site/ULR at top of this page, until I did it by accident really.
2/15/12 7:41 PM
Elona said...
What a great tutorial! Wowza. Many thanks.
2/28/12 3:21 PM
tigergirl said...
Excellent! Thank you so much.
3/1/12 7:08 PM
KathleenS said...
Thanks so much Belinda! The pictures are particularly helpful.
4/25/12 2:06 AM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us