SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > use a clamp for a "third hand" helper

Viewed 5728 times
Posted by: Sew it seams
photo

 
 
About Sew it seams starstar
MT USA
Member since: 7/15/03
Reviews written: 71
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 40 people
tips added: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/3/06 2:41 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 7 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
I picked this clamp up from Home Depot over year ago, thinking that it might come in handy (pun intended!) whenever I had an occasion to need a "third hand". I had forgotten about it until today when I started a hand-rolled hem on a 4 1/2 yard long founce cut from georgette. Claire Shaeffer suggests holding the section of the edge you are working on taut which makes it much easier to manage. This clamp works great for this! I think I only paid $1 for it from a bin at Home Depot, but any hardware store should carry them.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
suncentaur said...
great idea, why didn't I think of that. Sounds handy for ripping out seams too. I kept waiting for myself to remember to order one of those bird tools one day, but the clamp is so easy and obvious. I already have some too!
3/7/06 3:38 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
This is great Debe, thanks. DH has several clamps and clips in the woodshop that I can borrow. -Ann
3/4/06 8:48 PM
Irene Q said...
Excellent idea- thanks!
3/4/06 8:27 AM
SewVeryTall said...
This really is a handy thing to have around, Debe, great idea to post it as a tip! I found one for $1 too, with a suction cup on the bottom. Only used it a couple times so far, but it was wonderful to have that 'third hand'.
3/4/06 8:26 AM
annsew65 said...
Hmmm, DH has several of these in his woodshop just outside my sewing room! I just may commandeer one until I can get to Lowe's!
3/4/06 4:20 AM
FloraNature said...
Thank you Debe, this is a really good tip. It might also work for holding a piece of elastic taut.
3/3/06 7:48 PM
els said...
Great tip, thanks for sharing.
3/3/06 4:08 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.