SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Removing fusible interfacing

Viewed 9305 times
Posted by: Debbie Lancaster
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Debbie Lancaster star
CA United States
Member since: 9/18/02
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
tips added: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/21/06 10:30 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 18 people   
Featured in the PR book!
Someone on the boards was asking about removing Wonder Under from her ironing board cover. I found these instructions from the University of Nebraska. If you do a Google search, you'll come up with odd results because the university is reorganizing its web site. This was cached by Google, fortunately:


Removing Fused Interfacing

To remove interfacing that has been fused in place, hold a steam iron over interfacing for 5 - 10 seconds. Immediately peel off the interfacing. If it is still adhered, set the iron on the interfacing, but do not use pressure. To remove any fusing agent that remains on the fabric, cover it with a damp, lightweight fabric scrap and press. Peel off while warm. Continue with new scraps until all the adhesive can be removed by sponging the area with rubbing alcohol--but be sure the fabric or dye will not be affected.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
SewVeryTall said...
Thanks Debbie! I had missed that tip on our site, and I'm surprised that damp fabric is recommended to remove the last of the glue. Great tip to pass along. Go Big Red [Nebraska talk]...hehe.
4/21/06 6:00 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Thanks Debbie, I am in the process of making a NEW ironing board cover because the old one is stained and covered with interfacing goo. I'll keep this in mind and use it before the new one gets so bad.
4/22/06 10:22 AM
PVA said...
Thanks for this tip, Debbie -- I definitely am printing it off & putting it in my binder. So far the only unwanted place I've fused interfacing is to my press cloth! (8^( !
4/22/06 11:04 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Thanks for the great tip. It works pretty well too. PVA you are smart to always use a press cloth. Much easier than removal.
4/22/06 2:03 PM
*Jessica* said...
great into ! Im going to try this now ;)
12/21/06 5:45 PM
Linda Faye said...
I am so thankful for the advise given here. I had interfaced the entire back of a swing jacket I was making but it made the garment too stiff and took away the free flowing swing effect. I was having an awful time removing the interfacing but this advise enabled me to remove it a lot quicker.
8/24/08 11:56 PM
shanntarra said...
You saved one of my costumes. Interfacing gunk got on my costume. Thanks to you to saved me from having to redo the whole costume. Thank you. :)
3/9/10 9:07 PM
villager said...
Wonder if it's a bad idea to use fusible webbing to hem a skirt for a growing child.
1/4/12 10:54 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Beginner Sewing Lab 102 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 102  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.