SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Confused about your shoulder point?

Viewed 5949 times
Posted by: ladybegood
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ladybegood starstar
Member since: 5/19/03
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 36 people
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/5/06 5:58 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 27 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
I was confused for a long time about my where my shoulder point was. I posted a question about it on the boards (http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/sewingclasses/board.pl?t=13871) and found that some other people were having the same problem. I googled shoulder anatomy and found some useful info that I thought I'd share here.

The shoulder point in pattern making is actually the AC joint (acromioclavicular joint). This is the joint between the collar bone (clavical) and the tip of the shoulder blade bone (acromion). I was mistakenly marking the joint where the head of the arm (humerus) enters the shoulder socket! I found my AC joint by running my fingers along the top of my collar bone until I felt a little dent. I'm pretty confident that I've got the right spot now, even though I still don't see that 'dimple' at the hinge point that I keep reading about!

The photo I linked to was the least graphic photo for those who might not like that stuff, but if you google AC joint there are some more helpful images out there.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


12 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Miss Fairchild said...
Excellent tip! Thank you for taking the time to write it. I have forward sloping shoulders and it's always been difficult to find just exactly where everything is. Thanks to you I can!
5/5/06 8:15 PM
PVA said...
Thank you, Beth. Every little piece of information helps enormously & this one is news to me!
5/6/06 0:23 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Now it all makes sense! Thanks a bunch.
5/6/06 9:03 AM
AnneM said...
Nice of you to not only post the tip, but pick a non-graphic diagram. I might look for some of those other diagrams as well, though. :)
5/6/06 9:08 AM
ryan's mom said...
Great tip! For a long time I was using the wrong point too and learned the correct point in the Muslin class. This is great for all those who are in the same boat we were in for too long.
5/6/06 2:50 PM
Peggym said...
I too have forward and uneven shoulders and am looking forward to trying this. It certainly makes sense. I have found the dimple! If the shoulders are wrong the whole garment is wrong
5/7/06 5:16 PM
hopefull said...
always had a problem finding shoulder point-will try
3/29/07 1:29 PM
waltzqueen said...
I never knew where the point was either, but thought it was the bump end of the clavical. Thanks for the explanation.
1/9/08 11:13 PM
goldesdottar said...
Really helpful; i used the Google Images searcher, and can now even locate the "dimple"! I've sewn for decades & never had such clarity about the shoulder point...i am REALLY narrow-shouldered.
4/14/08 3:23 AM
Kirstenw said...
I have been drafting my patterns for a long time, till now have not known exactly where the shoulder was. Thank you for sharing.
5/16/08 5:18 AM
Lynnelle said...
Great tip. Thank you. I have recently come to realize that I have very narrow shoulders and your tip provides further justification.
6/29/08 9:02 AM
PureJoy said...
I have struggled with this for a long time also, as the seam which attaches the sleeve to the bodice needs to be significantly different than the patterns, so I was NEVERnable to wear RTW or sew clothing that fit in woven fabrics. Once I figured this specific spot on my shoulder, everything fell into place. I read somewhere it's easiest to locate it by raising your arm out to the side about just a bit,maybe 45 degrees, so your arm is pointing to 9 o'clock on a clock, and the indentation/dimple is easily located. My skin actually wrinkles around the area, but maybe that's just because I'm in my 50's!
10/23/13 4:45 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.