SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Point Turner - How to use it correctly

Viewed 5906 times
Posted by: jbrewer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About jbrewer star
PA USA
Member since: 2/13/06
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
tips added: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/29/07 9:16 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 26 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I just saw Louise Cutting on America Sews this week and she demonstrated how to use a point turner. My mouth dropped as it was the opposite of how I use it. Here are the steps for turning the point of a collar:

1. Grasp the turner in the palm of your hand with the point sticking out so that it is directly under your thumb. Your thumb and the pointed end become like tongs.

2. Open your "tongs" and place your thumb inside the collar unit as far to the point as you can get.

3. Place the point of the turner directly at the collar point on the wrong side of the fabric. Pinch your "tongs" together.

4. Use your opposite hand to pull the collar unit over the top of the turner, thereby leaving your thumb on the outside and the turner on the inside of the collar unit.

That's it! No pushing and poking from the inside. I ran to my sewing room to give it a try and it worked like a charm. I haven't tried it yet on a very pointy collar. That'll be the real test.

Remember, it's a point TURNER, not a point POKER.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


13 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Annie- oh said...
Thank you for this tip - and beautifully written/described!
3/29/07 9:57 PM
SewVeryTall said...
I saw this show too...you described the technique perfectly :) A long pair of forceps or a nail file work great the same way...possibly better on a very pointy collar.
3/30/07 7:52 AM
OP Gal said...
Excellent tip. I, too, have been poking rather than turning. I'll try it on my next collar.
3/30/07 8:57 AM
vasallese said...
Thanks, I don't get America Sews (unfortunatley).
3/30/07 6:23 PM
frame said...
Great tip. You described it so clearly.
3/30/07 10:02 PM
juliette2 said...
Thanks for this useful tip. I often get a "dog ear"when I turn a point and I suspect I must be poking. I'll try it this way ASAP!
3/31/07 8:46 AM
joem78 said...
Thank you for sharing this! I've never seen this written out before and have always poked.
3/31/07 9:14 AM
greenmommie said...
I had a lightbulb moment while reading this because I didn't get it at first. Thanks so much!
4/2/07 3:56 PM
Linda G said...
today is the third time I have reread your tip and I am sitting her pretending I have the turner and fabric...I hope my light bulb goes on pretty soon...next time I have something to turn I am going to bring the garment and the point turner to my computer.
4/5/07 10:11 PM
Linda G said...
today is the third time I have reread your tip and I am sitting here pretending I have the turner and fabric...I hope my light bulb goes on pretty soon...next time I have something to turn I am going to bring the garment and the point turner to my computer because it sounds like you have discovered the secret to successful turning.
4/5/07 10:16 PM
aunt saidee said...
Oh how I wish my brain were hard-wired to get this kind of thing by reading directions! I will have to try it, and even then I'll probably end up asking my friend to read and demonstrate so I can do it with her! She was doing a demo at a textile group meeting and I said I didn't get it, and she just said, "Saidee, you know you have to DO IT to understand!" and went right on with her demo. We all laughed. Your directions are very well-written! Thank you!
4/7/07 4:03 AM
Rhoda K said...
I've had one of these for years and never could quite figure out how to use it (no instructions were included). Thanks so much for your tip!
4/7/07 8:10 AM
JJ said...
That's so simple, it seems unreal, I'm going to try it out right now. JJ
4/27/07 2:48 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Buy Now
Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.