SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Home Made Bobbin Buddy

Viewed 8267 times
Posted by: Mary Stiefer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Mary Stiefer starstarstarstar
CO USA
Member since: 2/17/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 36 people
tips added: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/8/08 6:48 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 24 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
This all occurred because I got frustrated when I looked for a bobbin and found that the threads were all tangled. I know they sell Bobbin Buddies (12 for about $6.50) but we had some plastic tubing 3/8" diameter and I gave this a try. Cut the plastic tubing in about 1/4" circles, use your scissors to open up the tubing and VOILA - Homemade Bobbin Buddies.

You can see from the picture that the more thread there is on the bobbin the more open that piece of tubing is but it still encloses the bobbin thread. I think using 1/2" in diameter tubing would probably be the best. Twelve inches of this tubing costs about 25 cents. Lots of bang for the buck here.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


18 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Cloud9 said...
Hi Mary, You are so smart and clever and so thrifty. I can't wait to give it a try. I used to use that tubing in the dental office so why didn't I think of that?
6/8/08 7:04 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
You are sooo clever! I was thinking of buying the real things but found them too expensive...Now I have a better way, thanks to you!
6/8/08 7:38 PM
Peacock Chic said...
great idea!~
6/9/08 2:49 AM
petro said...
great tip!
6/9/08 3:33 AM
snapdragonfly said...
I LOVE this tip, Mary.Thank you, I am off to the hardware store right now...
6/12/08 12:06 PM
bestgrammy said...
LOVE this! Going to try this today!
6/15/08 12:11 PM
said...
What a great idea!
6/17/08 6:42 PM
Susan M said...
I just bought a package of bobbin buddies. I will use your tip for the rest of my bobbins.
6/18/08 12:25 PM
Karla Kizer said...
What a great idea, Mary. Thanks.
6/19/08 7:13 AM
SewTwin said...
OMG Tip!I will def be using this soon, as I don't take my "whole" bobbin holder to class, and off on the floor they go! Why didn't this hit me? You could patent this, and sell to Clothilde, or Nancy's Notions??
6/24/08 5:55 PM
Sherril Miller said...
How clever is this? Thanks for sharing.
6/30/08 9:38 PM
blessed quilter said...
Where do you find this tubing? Thanks.
8/21/08 11:57 PM
sewtime said...
Wow, great tip, thank you!
12/15/08 2:12 PM
sondriecohe said...
Great tip, thanks for sharing.
3/14/09 12:57 PM
Nonette said...
very great idea. I am off to the hardware store.
9/2/09 5:10 PM
StitchinSylvia said...
Necessity, IS the mother of invention. Bravo!
1/14/11 11:25 AM
BRIGIDHS said...
What a great idea! Thank you!
12/13/11 1:02 PM
Schaz said...
Brilliant! I needed more bobbin buddies for a macrame project, and my web search found this instead. Great solution, thanks!
6/29/12 10:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Lola and Lolita Aprons

Sew Liberated Lola and Lolita Aprons

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.