SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Home Made Bobbin Buddy

Viewed 8835 times
Posted by: Mary Stiefer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Mary Stiefer starstarstarstar
CO USA
Member since: 2/17/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 36 people
tips added: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/8/08 6:48 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 24 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
This all occurred because I got frustrated when I looked for a bobbin and found that the threads were all tangled. I know they sell Bobbin Buddies (12 for about $6.50) but we had some plastic tubing 3/8" diameter and I gave this a try. Cut the plastic tubing in about 1/4" circles, use your scissors to open up the tubing and VOILA - Homemade Bobbin Buddies.

You can see from the picture that the more thread there is on the bobbin the more open that piece of tubing is but it still encloses the bobbin thread. I think using 1/2" in diameter tubing would probably be the best. Twelve inches of this tubing costs about 25 cents. Lots of bang for the buck here.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


18 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Schaz said...
Brilliant! I needed more bobbin buddies for a macrame project, and my web search found this instead. Great solution, thanks!
6/29/12 10:20 PM
BRIGIDHS said...
What a great idea! Thank you!
12/13/11 1:02 PM
StitchinSylvia said...
Necessity, IS the mother of invention. Bravo!
1/14/11 11:25 AM
Nonette said...
very great idea. I am off to the hardware store.
9/2/09 5:10 PM
sondriecohe said...
Great tip, thanks for sharing.
3/14/09 12:57 PM
sewtime said...
Wow, great tip, thank you!
12/15/08 2:12 PM
blessed quilter said...
Where do you find this tubing? Thanks.
8/21/08 11:57 PM
Sherril Miller said...
How clever is this? Thanks for sharing.
6/30/08 9:38 PM
SewTwin said...
OMG Tip!I will def be using this soon, as I don't take my "whole" bobbin holder to class, and off on the floor they go! Why didn't this hit me? You could patent this, and sell to Clothilde, or Nancy's Notions??
6/24/08 5:55 PM
Karla Kizer said...
What a great idea, Mary. Thanks.
6/19/08 7:13 AM
Susan M said...
I just bought a package of bobbin buddies. I will use your tip for the rest of my bobbins.
6/18/08 12:25 PM
said...
What a great idea!
6/17/08 6:42 PM
bestgrammy said...
LOVE this! Going to try this today!
6/15/08 12:11 PM
snapdragonfly said...
I LOVE this tip, Mary.Thank you, I am off to the hardware store right now...
6/12/08 12:06 PM
petro said...
great tip!
6/9/08 3:33 AM
Peacock Chic said...
great idea!~
6/9/08 2:49 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
You are sooo clever! I was thinking of buying the real things but found them too expensive...Now I have a better way, thanks to you!
6/8/08 7:38 PM
Cloud9 said...
Hi Mary, You are so smart and clever and so thrifty. I can't wait to give it a try. I used to use that tubing in the dental office so why didn't I think of that?
6/8/08 7:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Sewing Workshop Eureka Top & Skirt

Sewing Workshop Eureka Top & Skirt

Buy Now
Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.