SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > wrapped corners

Viewed 6105 times
Posted by: jbsew
photo

 
 
About jbsew starstar
MI USA
Member since: 9/9/05
Reviews written: 89
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 30 people
tips added: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/4/08 2:42 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 9 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
If you want nice crisp corners try using the wrapped corner technique. Instead of pivoting at the corner stitch the seam to the end. Now take it to the ironing board and press the seam at the stitching line folding the seam allowance towards the center. This wraps the seam allowance. Start the connecting seam at the folded edge. After completing the seams trim the corner at and angle to reduce the bulk. Turn the corner right side out and press for a very neat corner. step 1 step 2 and 3 step 4 finished corner

You can refine this more and eliminate more bulk by grading the seam allowance click here and then understiching the entire seam. click here Fold along the seam line with right sides together and the seam allowance will be wrapped. Stitch the connecting seam click here turn, and press.click here

compare the difference in bulk in the seam allowance click here

I use the technique on collars, pockets, and any corner I want to be very crisp.

I learned the technique from Sewing with Nancy and she has the details in several of her books

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
ryansmumAria said...
This sounds so interesting. Any possibility of getting a visual?
7/4/08 10:10 PM
JoaniesJosh said...
The second sentence. I thought you press down the long seam toward the bottom edge of the collar.
7/5/08 10:03 AM
Aixoise said...
I second the request for a visual. Thanks for the tip.
7/5/08 12:37 PM
Patzee said...
I understand the first paragraph, but the second confuses me, so I'll add my request for a visual -- I can use some help with my corners.
7/5/08 8:50 PM
KSC said...
I guess I don't understand your term "wrapping the seam allowance". Also when you say to iron the seam allowance toward the center - what center are you referring to?
7/6/08 9:07 PM
petro said...
thinking of a collar, pressing the sa of say the long edge down, then stitching across it for the short edge maens that cutting into the corner would be cutting a diagonal across at least 3 layers. have I understood right? and how does this work against the usual trimming away sa near the corner to get less bulk?
7/7/08 2:10 AM
jbsew said...
Thanks everyone for the questions. I will try and get the visual done this week and clear up the confusion.
7/7/08 7:04 AM
jbsew said...
pictures are now posted. Hope it makes it clearer
7/7/08 5:20 PM
Patzee said...
Thanks for the photos...much clearer!
7/9/08 3:04 PM
bluefly said...
Thank you for this tip. I watched it on "Sewing with Nancy" this morning and need something in print to refer to. Very helpful!
2/21/09 10:09 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Victoria Jones Collection Happi Coat & Hanten (230)

Victoria Jones Collection Happi Coat & Hanten (230)

Buy Now
Checkbook Cover

Checkbook Cover

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.