SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Easy interfacing

Viewed 5210 times
Posted by: Passion4Sewing
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Passion4Sewing starstarstar
SC USA
Member since: 9/21/08
Reviews written: 223
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 30 people
tips added: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/25/09 8:47 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 12 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I like to use fusible tricot to interface most items. I found that an easy way to interface is what I call laminating. I press the interfacing onto the back of a piece of the fashion fabric large enough to cut out all facings or interfaced items. When thy are cut, they are exactly matched in size since it is cut as one. It is easier than cutting out interfacing individually and the pieces are nice and firm to work with.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Restart06 said...
thanks for sharing, I have done this also
5/25/09 9:06 AM
HatBuddy said...
What a great idea. Much easier then the piece by piece method. Especially when some pattern pieces can be really small and hard to hold in place to fuse it on without bunring fingers. Such as with sewn hats and Bras etc.
5/25/09 10:14 AM
puppylove104104 said...
Just so you know, it's an industry method as well - it's called block fusing :)
5/26/09 4:36 AM
nancy2001 said...
I just block fused a jacket, and it is much faster, especially if you use a clam shell press instead of a regular iron.
5/26/09 7:48 AM
taylorsi1955 said...
Excellent tip. Thanks!
5/27/09 7:16 PM
carole said...
What is a clam shell press . I have a steam press is that the same thing ?Also do you leave the same size as pattern piece without trimming off that 1/8 in.the pattern always advise .Does it add to much bulk in the seam area ?
6/24/09 4:41 AM
khunter said...
I love this tip! I love to use that interfacing as well. I'm going to try this in my next project.
6/28/09 10:54 PM
Passion4Sewing said...
Carole- I don't trim. The tricot is light enough to not add bulk.
7/5/09 12:07 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.