SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > 3 step zig zag

Viewed 5578 times
Posted by: MNBarb
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MNBarb starstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 4/3/10
Reviews written: 143
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 76 people
tips added: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/7/10 7:38 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 9 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Since I don't have a serger I've been practicing with different overcasting options on my Bernina 930. Most of the recommended stitches cause tunneling on softer fabrics. I used the 3-step zig zag as recommended by a Kwik Sew pattern I was making. It works great. The garment has been laundered and the edges held up well.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Barbara3 said...
Great tip - and something I hadn't thought about before. Thanks for sharing it.
9/7/10 5:41 PM
Maripat said...
Hey, I do this too on my 930! I do use a serger, but when I'm altering a small area and I want a good thread match, I use this stitch. It is also my go-to stitch for mending. I use it almost daily in my alterations.
9/8/10 7:59 AM
kws said...
Very good tip, thanks
9/16/10 9:42 PM
Hilary said...
AAH! This is *just * the tip I needed-I am getting ready to make a shirt for DH with a KS (quarter inch seams) pattern and was trying to find the best method for finishing the tiny seams in a cotton woven fabric. Thank you so much! And I hope my Bernina 530 has this stitch, lol.
10/26/10 11:22 AM
Leda2 said...
Could you explain what a 3 step zig zag is?
10/28/10 4:08 PM
MNBarb said...
I added a photo. Sorry, I hate it when I read a tip and don't understand what is being described. Thanks for asking. I'm not sure if every sewing machine has this stitch.
10/29/10 7:29 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.