SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > 3 step zig zag

Viewed 5693 times
Posted by: MNBarb
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MNBarb starstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 4/3/10
Reviews written: 145
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 80 people
tips added: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/7/10 7:38 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 9 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Since I don't have a serger I've been practicing with different overcasting options on my Bernina 930. Most of the recommended stitches cause tunneling on softer fabrics. I used the 3-step zig zag as recommended by a Kwik Sew pattern I was making. It works great. The garment has been laundered and the edges held up well.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
MNBarb said...
I added a photo. Sorry, I hate it when I read a tip and don't understand what is being described. Thanks for asking. I'm not sure if every sewing machine has this stitch.
10/29/10 7:29 AM
Leda2 said...
Could you explain what a 3 step zig zag is?
10/28/10 4:08 PM
Hilary said...
AAH! This is *just * the tip I needed-I am getting ready to make a shirt for DH with a KS (quarter inch seams) pattern and was trying to find the best method for finishing the tiny seams in a cotton woven fabric. Thank you so much! And I hope my Bernina 530 has this stitch, lol.
10/26/10 11:22 AM
kws said...
Very good tip, thanks
9/16/10 9:42 PM
Maripat said...
Hey, I do this too on my 930! I do use a serger, but when I'm altering a small area and I want a good thread match, I use this stitch. It is also my go-to stitch for mending. I use it almost daily in my alterations.
9/8/10 7:59 AM
Barbara3 said...
Great tip - and something I hadn't thought about before. Thanks for sharing it.
9/7/10 5:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern

Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern

More Info
Veronica Pocketbook

Veronica Pocketbook

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.