SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Start at the End

Viewed 5461 times
Posted by: lauramae
photo

 
 
About lauramae star
CA USA
Member since: 4/28/09
Reviews written: 166
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 95 people
tips added: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/1/10 5:13 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 20 people   
If you complete some of the final steps of your garment right at the beginning, you can trick yourself into believing you have less steps to complete.

For instance, I usually start with building my shoulder pads, so as I come to the final construction steps, I already have my pads ready to stitch in. This also comes in handy with self-fabric belts or buckles. These things always take more time than you expect!

I can't tell you how many times I think I need only an hour to complete a garment to wear for the next day, but end up with hooks and eyes, hemming, tacking, shoulder pads, belt-making, etc. and run out of time - this alleviates some of those issues.


<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


12 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
goodworks1 said...
Good idea! Thanks for adding it here!
11/2/10 0:18 AM
sweetviolets said...
This tip also helps you feel like you have actually accomplished something so that every time you sit down to work on the garment you feel gratified (even when things go a little sideways!).
11/2/10 1:54 AM
Rhoda K said...
Good point. Thanks.
11/2/10 7:49 AM
JEF said...
Excellent idea!
11/2/10 8:12 AM
LynnG said...
I will definitely use this tip.
11/2/10 9:12 AM
Kayseri said...
What a great idea, definitely one I'll adopt.
11/2/10 11:12 PM
RLL said...
I couldn't agree with you more!
11/3/10 9:56 AM
MammaJamma said...
I have sewed a ton for 40+ years, and this is the best motivating advice I've gotten for a long time. I don't know how many fun things I've completed in the nick of time for an event...and I feel kind of sad about it because there is a safety pin holding in shoulder pads or whatever. Great strategy and outlook!
11/3/10 11:29 PM
Annie- oh said...
Yes! And, MammaJamma, you're funny!
11/5/10 1:00 PM
manola6176 said...
That's sew true an clever
4/6/11 8:22 AM
Norsecross said...
My home economics teacher taught us a similar trick, she encouraged us to do all the first steps of each stage and thereby reduce the time away from the sewing machine. The garment does seem to be suddenly finished and the stand-up, sit-down process of stitching and ironing is far less tedious. Efficient sewing is happy sewing! Good tip!
5/24/11 0:09 AM
Sew it seams said...
Yes, this is the way "trick" myself, too. It reminds me of Nancy Zieman's book "30 Minutes to Sew".
11/12/11 10:53 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.