SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Pattern Tracing Material

Viewed 5410 times
Posted by: Mary Stiefer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Mary Stiefer starstarstarstar
CO USA
Member since: 2/17/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 36 people
tips added: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/8/04 11:14 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 6 people   
Featured in the PR book!
Most sewers will know this - but - beginners won't. I save all of my patterns and trace them on a pattern tracing material that I buy at the fabric store. The tracing material that I use is 100% nylon and will not tear.

But the good part is that you can mark your fabric, with a fabric marking pen (after you test it on the fabric) right through the tracing material. No need for tracing paper. Makes cutting patterns go much quicker.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Stitchology said...
It's a good idea to put something underneath when marking. My poor cutting mat has faint fragments of lines and numbers on it in indelible ink that went through the pattern material.
3/8/04 12:00 PM
vita said...
There are many recommended types in the archives here at PR. I prefer the Seedish Tracing paper. It is really sturdy, and holds up well when repeatedly used. (I make costumes, leotards, tutus, pants etc. for a non profit ballet co., and also some local competition dance teams. I may need to make several dozen of the same leotard with variations.) I create most of these patterns myself, and the fact I can sew through them while designing is very time saving. Thank you for the tip on marking through the paper iteself. I can see the use for some of my own clothing! That really would be a time saver!! And StitchMD, you probably saved me from a few new lines on my mat!
3/8/04 11:32 PM
vita said...
Please excuse the typo - I was referring to SWEEDISH Tracing Paper. Most probably know, but I'd hate for someone to try to 'google' the wrong thing!
3/8/04 11:36 PM
kathi s said...
I have been experimenting with plastic roll table cloth material- the kind you get at party stores. I needed something to trace on and didn't wait until I could drive the 18 miles to Hancock's so use this stuff that I had left over. You can see through it adequately to trace and it sews very well. After I "play" a little more I'll post a review. It's very cheap.
3/9/04 8:57 AM
wildhoney269 said...
Well I'm a beginner and that's a great tip for me! I already cut two patterns that came out in the incorrect size after I sewed them. Only one was too small, but I can't reuse the patterns I cut. And I haven't been able to figure out the marking paper without tearing the flimsy pattern. I'm going to go find some of this nylon material.
3/9/04 1:56 PM
PamJr said...
What is the name of this tracing paper? I mean, how would I find it or even ask where I might find it?
3/12/04 2:09 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
According to the fabric board (I bought the whole thing) is says "Pattern Tracing Cloth". I hope that helps. There isn't a company or manufacturer name on it. I purchased this at Hancock Fabrics but I have also seen it at Joann's.
3/13/04 9:53 AM
nolovelost said...
Mary, this is a great tip for me as not only am I a new member and sewer, I also use the multiple size patterns and go up and down in size 10 to 12! Thank you very much!
3/15/04 7:14 AM
Sew4Flecky said...
Mary, thank you very much for this tip!! I am also a beginner and I was looking for tracing paper, but was told that tissue paper is cheaper and works just as well. But, I am finding out that it also rips easily, so thatnk you again.
3/24/04 5:42 AM
Tonya said...
I'm personally fond of "true grid", a tracing paper/quilting notion that has 1" squares marked on it. It's especially helpful when drafting patterns or adjusting patterns a certain measurment. A bit more expensive, but for me, worth it.
3/28/04 1:16 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Buy Now
Mini Miranda Bag

Mini Miranda Bag

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.