SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Pattern Tracing Material

Viewed 5362 times
Posted by: Mary Stiefer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Mary Stiefer starstarstarstar
CO USA
Member since: 2/17/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 36 people
tips added: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/8/04 11:14 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 6 people   
Featured in the PR book!
Most sewers will know this - but - beginners won't. I save all of my patterns and trace them on a pattern tracing material that I buy at the fabric store. The tracing material that I use is 100% nylon and will not tear.

But the good part is that you can mark your fabric, with a fabric marking pen (after you test it on the fabric) right through the tracing material. No need for tracing paper. Makes cutting patterns go much quicker.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Stitchology said...
It's a good idea to put something underneath when marking. My poor cutting mat has faint fragments of lines and numbers on it in indelible ink that went through the pattern material.
3/8/04 12:00 PM
vita said...
There are many recommended types in the archives here at PR. I prefer the Seedish Tracing paper. It is really sturdy, and holds up well when repeatedly used. (I make costumes, leotards, tutus, pants etc. for a non profit ballet co., and also some local competition dance teams. I may need to make several dozen of the same leotard with variations.) I create most of these patterns myself, and the fact I can sew through them while designing is very time saving. Thank you for the tip on marking through the paper iteself. I can see the use for some of my own clothing! That really would be a time saver!! And StitchMD, you probably saved me from a few new lines on my mat!
3/8/04 11:32 PM
vita said...
Please excuse the typo - I was referring to SWEEDISH Tracing Paper. Most probably know, but I'd hate for someone to try to 'google' the wrong thing!
3/8/04 11:36 PM
kathi s said...
I have been experimenting with plastic roll table cloth material- the kind you get at party stores. I needed something to trace on and didn't wait until I could drive the 18 miles to Hancock's so use this stuff that I had left over. You can see through it adequately to trace and it sews very well. After I "play" a little more I'll post a review. It's very cheap.
3/9/04 8:57 AM
wildhoney269 said...
Well I'm a beginner and that's a great tip for me! I already cut two patterns that came out in the incorrect size after I sewed them. Only one was too small, but I can't reuse the patterns I cut. And I haven't been able to figure out the marking paper without tearing the flimsy pattern. I'm going to go find some of this nylon material.
3/9/04 1:56 PM
PamJr said...
What is the name of this tracing paper? I mean, how would I find it or even ask where I might find it?
3/12/04 2:09 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
According to the fabric board (I bought the whole thing) is says "Pattern Tracing Cloth". I hope that helps. There isn't a company or manufacturer name on it. I purchased this at Hancock Fabrics but I have also seen it at Joann's.
3/13/04 9:53 AM
nolovelost said...
Mary, this is a great tip for me as not only am I a new member and sewer, I also use the multiple size patterns and go up and down in size 10 to 12! Thank you very much!
3/15/04 7:14 AM
Sew4Flecky said...
Mary, thank you very much for this tip!! I am also a beginner and I was looking for tracing paper, but was told that tissue paper is cheaper and works just as well. But, I am finding out that it also rips easily, so thatnk you again.
3/24/04 5:42 AM
Tonya said...
I'm personally fond of "true grid", a tracing paper/quilting notion that has 1" squares marked on it. It's especially helpful when drafting patterns or adjusting patterns a certain measurment. A bit more expensive, but for me, worth it.
3/28/04 1:16 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

8 inch Dressmaking Shears

8 inch Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now
Mini Miranda Bag

Mini Miranda Bag

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.