SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > SWAP Storyboard

Viewed 5522 times
Posted by: Sherril Miller
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sherril Miller starstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 137
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 186 people
tips added: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/17/04 1:24 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 17 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
I was unable to put together my first SWAP (Sewing with a plan) wardrobe as I couldn't stay focused and kept changing my mind on fabrics and patterns. For the Summer SWAP on Sewingworld.com, I put together a storyboard of the patterns and garments I plan on sewing. I can see at a glance what will go with what and I will highlight the garment as I complete it. This is taped to the wall in my sewing room where I can see it.

I can't draw so what I did was to copy the line drawing from the pattern websites (some needed to be cropped) and then put them into an MSword document. You can use many different programs for this. From there I resized the drawing to the size I needed. Then I traced the drawing onto my tablet paper making design changes to some of the patterns. Then I just glued my fabric choices to the paper.

Sherril

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


13 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Mufffet said...
Sherril, this is great - I am going to storyboard using actual large sheets of white paper and fabric swatches - the good old cut-and-paste-method. ;) Then if I get around to it, I can do something computery but I want an escape from computery anyway...;) Thanks for a great idea!
3/1/08 1:30 PM
Merry G said...
I dont stay focused long enough to even cut something out....
4/20/07 9:21 PM
Gina Marie said...
I do almost the EXACT same thing, just a little bit more in depth with a series of worksheets. I really do think it keeps me focused too !! http://www.seweclectic.com/page7.html
5/4/04 11:03 PM
Skymom said...
Rennie, you don't really have to do this on the computer--you can trace off the basic outline of the garment from the pattern envelope and enlarge it on a photocopier, then trace it as needed to incorporate any of your own design changes. Or go to the Threads website and search for "Croquis," and use their croquis as the basis of sketches. Sherril, I really like this design board idea--it's great for planning and motivation.
4/30/04 9:34 AM
Rennie Ashby said...
Fabulous! Musht be very rewarding to check off a garment. How long did this take and please tell me some programs I can use to incorporate diagrams into MS word. My computer knowledge is limited. :-(
4/20/04 8:55 AM
drsue said...
This could also help you focus on finding the right coordinate if you don't have one in your stash.
4/18/04 11:01 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Great tip! whether working on SWAP for a contest or just trying to use up a stash of compatible fabric. I need to incorporate this tip with my current endless combinations projects.
4/18/04 7:00 AM
Rebecca D said...
Sherrill, thank you thank you thankyou! I, too, am in the Summer Swap on SW and will be using this technique. I find it so hard to stay focussed when a million possibilities abound.
4/18/04 6:51 AM
SewTwin said...
Sherrill, This is a unique idea. I am having a problem getting my "Zing" back into sewing. I think this will motivate me, and finish a project, much less "Several" projects!
4/18/04 0:04 AM
Kim Winson said...
sherrill, what a great idea! I'm having the same problem deciding and remembering what Iwant to do a with a fabric--especially with the endless combinations contest. Thank you for posting it!
4/17/04 11:40 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Your storyboard was met with lots of enthusiasm on SW. I'm glad you posted your method here. It looks very much like something that would be found in a designer's workroom. Professional and fun to look at while you're sewing. Thanks for sharing your idea.
4/17/04 11:13 PM
goodworks1 said...
What a great idea! This is something that would work well with my need to be able to see everything to remember it! I might even be able to store the actual project out of sight this way! lol
4/17/04 7:09 PM
sewmuchmorefun said...
This is such a neat idea. I have signed on for the Summer Capsule. I am a beginner and I am getting confused trying to tie all of this together. I think I will try your idea. Thanks!
4/17/04 6:29 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

More Info
Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.