Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Wash-a-way Wonder Tape uses (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 6840 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 21 people   
Posted by: Debbie Lancaster
photo
Friend of PR
About Debbie Lancaster star
CA USA
Member since: 9/18/02
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
tips added: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/31/04 5:30 PM
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
11/1/04: I added a link to a picture of the package and the following explanation of what it is:

Wash-a-way Wonder Tape is a double stick tape that is water soluble. For pocket application, for example, you stick one side of the tape to the pocket wrong-side edge, pull off the backing tape, and stick the pocket to the garment. It washes out in the laundry. *However*, as StitchMD noted, it leaves a little bit of white residue behind (but I haven't noticed that the actual adhesive stays around, just a kind of white lint). I've found that you can remove the residue by gently rubbing on it. I imagine that scotch tape or packing tape would also help to take it off. I've found that subsequent washings won't remove the white stuff entirely, you have to remove it by hand. If you apply it carefully, however, as MaryBeth noted in her comment below, it won't be noticeable by anyone except you.



Over on the message board, we listed some of the ways we use Wash-a-Way Wonder Tape, and I thought it would be a good idea to put it here, since not everyone watches the message board.

* Basting in zippers
* Basting on pockets or appliques or waistbands
* Making your machine emb hoop sticky on the bottom so it grips the fabric when you go to hoop it
* Stabilizing and basting hems or seams across the stretch of a knit fabric.
* Holding trim in place for stitching
* Basting slippery fabric
* Matching plaids or prints
* Holding a button in place while you sew it
* Emergency hem repair
* Holding those "turn under seam allowance and top stitch" projects
* Keeping appliques in place while they're sewn (hand or machine)
* I do quite a bit of sewing with fleece and I use it to insert zippers and also so hold bulky seams together when the long daisy head pins won't do the job
* Fixing the gaposis on button down blouses.
* Sticking bra straps to blouse to keep the #*#(# things from falling down
* Hold shoulder pads in place until they can be tacked in
* Hemming napkins, dishtowels, placemats. Wonder tape gives an exact 1/4 inch doubled hem
* Use it anywhere that's likely to stretch or shift badly

Courtesy of DebJCook, StitchMD, Diana M, BorderCollieMom, Sherrill Miller, Lizz, and Cornelia
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewVeryTall said...
I went to the message board to check this out, because I hadn't heard of it before. Is it like Wonder Under [paper backed, iron on 'glue'], in 1/4" wide strip form? I guess the proper thing for me to do is request a notion review on it, but that seems redundant with all the usage info listed here.
Also, I noticed that StitchMD's question wasn't answered on the message board: "I am having a problem with paper and adhesive residue left behind after washing. Anyone know what I'm doing wrong? Should I use warmer water?"
11/1/04 9:07 AM
MaryBeth said...
I made a microfleece bathrobe for my husband and the Wash-Away Tape didn't wash away from the fibers. No big deal as the tape is small and is visible on only a tiny corner of the appliqued pocket but it's still there after three washings. I attribute it's abiding presence to the character of the fleece. No one knows it's there but me and now ya'll and next time I'll be a wee bit more careful.
11/1/04 11:33 AM
candyo said...
I've never used this before... looks like I have to have this stuff! Maybe it'll help sew on bindings on knit tops... they always stretch out for me.
11/1/04 8:43 PM
Nancy Peters said...
Thank Debbie for listing the uses! I have this in my stash and every once in a while remember to use it. I think it might be getting a little old. (Life span >10 years?) I think I will print this list out and tack it to my bulletin board to remember to use it. And you are right. I do not go on the message board that often. If I look at this site as often as I would like, I would never sew. So once every few months does it for me. Thanks a million
11/4/04 11:55 AM
Irene Q said...
I have to add a warning here about using Wonder Tape on light-colored silk. I used it to baste some lace on a white silk slip and to baste a hem on a white silk top, and it left a light brown stain on both garments when I washed it out. I haven't tried any stain removers yet (I'm trying to be very gentle with the silk) so the stains may eventually come out. Luckily, neither garment is ruined - I wear the top tucked in, and who sees a slip? - but beware if you're tempted to use Wonder Tape on a wedding dress!!
3/23/05 2:05 PM
solosmocker said...
I use this frequently for inserting piping in garments. I love it.
2/25/06 10:54 PM
BeckyW said...
Great tip. Let me add: Hold velcro in place for stitching.
9/2/06 10:24 PM
max454 said...
So, how do you use it on the neckline of a t-shirt to keep it from stretching when you are sewing it?
11/12/10 3:28 PM
Debbie Lancaster said...
max454: Just tape it around the neckline, fold over, and stitch. This prevents the neckline from stretching as you sew, since the tape doesn't stretch at all. You don't want to use Wonder Tape for a neckline that has binding, though, because the binding already is a bit smaller than the neckline.
11/13/10 12:04 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us