SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Turning Tubes of Fabric

Viewed 6772 times
Posted by: Melissa S.
photo

 
 
About Melissa S. star
NY USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/11/04 10:33 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I have tried many methods to turn narrow tubes of fabric, including borrowing my mother's FasTube turner set. The one that has worked best for me with the least amount of fabric distortion/bruising is to use a ribbon basted to the short end of the tube. I can't remember where I heard about this technique but it always works well for me:

Step 1: Cut a length of ribbon that is a few inches longer than the tube you wish to turn.
Step 2: Fold the fabric in half so that the long edges meet. Sandwich the length of ribbon in the middle.
Step 3: Baste one short end of the fabric layers to secure the end of the ribbon.
Step 4: Stitch the long side of the fabric layers, being careful not to catch the ribbon in the stitching.
Step 5: Pull the ribbon through the tube, thus turning the tube right side out.
Step 6: Remove the basting threads that secured the ribbon. The ribbon will easily pull out.

The job is made easier if a wider ribbon is used for wider tubes.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
D1Diva said...
What a great idea! I'm going to try this one. I loath the idea of turning skinny tubes and I've bought some useless notions to do so. Thanks for the tip!
11/11/04 1:35 PM
Barbara J said...
Excellent tip, I hate turning tubes, usually talk DH into doing it for me but should be able to do it myself from now on.
11/12/04 5:24 AM
iblondie said...
Can't wait to try this! Thanks for the great idea. Also, nylon cord would work great too on the skinny tubes thus lessen the chance of sewing through the ribbon.
11/12/04 12:28 PM
candyo said...
I just did this last nite!
11/12/04 6:58 PM
SandraB said...
THis is a great idea. Thank you.
11/16/04 12:18 PM
ohsewgood said...
Absolutely fantastic ~ perfect every time ~ what a time saver. So glad I found this site ~ so many useful information ~ I hope to add my own :)
11/17/04 7:37 PM
thaiyal said...
Wow! What a neat idea! Thanks for sharing it.
10/11/05 9:04 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Well that sure is a great tip, I'm going to try that next time I need to turn a tube of fabric right side out!
2/19/08 11:24 PM
Vintage Joan said...
I wish I had read this earlier! I just -- AGAIN -- gave up in exasperation after spending nearly an hour trying to turn a fabric tube. Your idea sounds like it will actually work -- thank you!!!
5/12/09 3:57 PM
craftygamma said...
Thank you for the tip! I am just about to make a sundress for DGD with skinny straps, and I will use your method.
6/29/09 6:28 AM
cfulcher said...
This was a wonderful tip. I tried this because I too was frustrated with turning narrow tubes and this method worked like a charm.
7/15/09 7:11 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

THE BASIC SLEEVE, a CD book by Kenneth King

THE BASIC SLEEVE, a CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.