Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Decorative zipper pulls (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5684 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 10 people   
Posted by: Gigi Louis
photo
About Gigi Louis starstarstarstar
Member since: 4/4/02
Reviews written: 78
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 251 people
tips added: 17
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/20/05 1:53 PM
Last Updated: 3/10/10 5:06 PM
I love decorative zipper pulls! But they sure do lose something when they're just clipped onto the existing pull. It's actually very easy to replace the existing pull with a decorative pull. No one will suspect it didn't come that way. Here's what you'll need:

*one split-ring about 3/8" in diameter (jump rings aren't as secure)
*zipper pull (or charm, beads, earring - use your imagination)
*diagonal cutter (I love my Fiskars cutter from JoAnn's)
*jewelry or small needle-nose pliers
*2nd split ring or a lanyard hook if your decorative pull doesn't have one
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ColoSew said...
What is a split ring?
6/20/05 7:56 PM
Gigi Louis said...
A split ring is a smaller version of the rings used for car keys.
6/20/05 8:06 PM
Karla Kizer said...
They are the little beasts that eat up your manicure when you slide your thumbnail into the ring to pry it open enough to wedge a key onto. They come in a vast array of sizes. I bought a pack of small ones in assorted sizes at a craft store, in the jewelry-making aisle.
6/20/05 9:39 PM
gabrielle said...
Yay!!! Thank you, Gigi!
6/21/05 0:43 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Cool tip, Gigi, thanks!

Karla...oh no, don't use your fingernail! Use your nail file to pry it open :)
6/21/05 4:22 AM

joan said...
What's a diagonal cutter? I have several thingys I would like to use for zipper pulls
6/21/05 8:49 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Joan, a diagonal cutter is a very sharp cutter used to cut metal objects, wire, etc. The blades come in on a diagonal. Fiskars makes a great one with a small head that's also useful for nipping off any extra molded zipper teeth. I bought mine at JoAnn's years ago. You can find diagonal cutters at hardware stores but I find most of the heads kind of big.
6/21/05 9:30 PM
Gigi Louis said...
I forgot to mention, the diagonal cutters look like pliers.
6/21/05 9:31 PM
trintje said...
You can get COLORED split rings in the craft section at Wal-Mart (red, blue, green, aqua). They are a bit large for zipper pull rings, unless that's the look you're after.
6/30/05 3:36 AM
SewVeryTall said...
I found mini split rings in the beading section of crafts at Walmart...200 silver and gold tone for $1.88. These are 7/32" wide [a hair less than 1/4"], and should work great!

I was really surprised at how easily the zipper pull cut off with wire cutters [aka diagonal cutters]...that pull isn't made of steel, that's for sure, hehe. Thanks again Gigi!!!
8/20/05 5:27 AM


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us