SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Decorative zipper pulls

Viewed 5970 times
Posted by: Gigi Louis
photo

 
 
About Gigi Louis starstarstarstar
Member since: 4/4/02
Reviews written: 78
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 251 people
tips added: 17
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/20/05 1:53 PM
Last Updated: 3/10/10 5:06 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
I love decorative zipper pulls! But they sure do lose something when they're just clipped onto the existing pull. It's actually very easy to replace the existing pull with a decorative pull. No one will suspect it didn't come that way. Here's what you'll need:

*one split-ring about 3/8" in diameter (jump rings aren't as secure)
*zipper pull (or charm, beads, earring - use your imagination)
*diagonal cutter (I love my Fiskars cutter from JoAnn's)
*jewelry or small needle-nose pliers
*2nd split ring or a lanyard hook if your decorative pull doesn't have one

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
ColoSew said...
What is a split ring?
6/20/05 7:56 PM
Gigi Louis said...
A split ring is a smaller version of the rings used for car keys.
6/20/05 8:06 PM
Karla Kizer said...
They are the little beasts that eat up your manicure when you slide your thumbnail into the ring to pry it open enough to wedge a key onto. They come in a vast array of sizes. I bought a pack of small ones in assorted sizes at a craft store, in the jewelry-making aisle.
6/20/05 9:39 PM
gabrielle said...
Yay!!! Thank you, Gigi!
6/21/05 0:43 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Cool tip, Gigi, thanks!

Karla...oh no, don't use your fingernail! Use your nail file to pry it open :)
6/21/05 4:22 AM

joan said...
What's a diagonal cutter? I have several thingys I would like to use for zipper pulls
6/21/05 8:49 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Joan, a diagonal cutter is a very sharp cutter used to cut metal objects, wire, etc. The blades come in on a diagonal. Fiskars makes a great one with a small head that's also useful for nipping off any extra molded zipper teeth. I bought mine at JoAnn's years ago. You can find diagonal cutters at hardware stores but I find most of the heads kind of big.
6/21/05 9:30 PM
Gigi Louis said...
I forgot to mention, the diagonal cutters look like pliers.
6/21/05 9:31 PM
trintje said...
You can get COLORED split rings in the craft section at Wal-Mart (red, blue, green, aqua). They are a bit large for zipper pull rings, unless that's the look you're after.
6/30/05 3:36 AM
SewVeryTall said...
I found mini split rings in the beading section of crafts at Walmart...200 silver and gold tone for $1.88. These are 7/32" wide [a hair less than 1/4"], and should work great!

I was really surprised at how easily the zipper pull cut off with wire cutters [aka diagonal cutters]...that pull isn't made of steel, that's for sure, hehe. Thanks again Gigi!!!
8/20/05 5:27 AM

 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern

You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.