SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Decorative zipper pulls

Viewed 5998 times
Posted by: Gigi Louis
photo

 
 
About Gigi Louis starstarstarstar
Member since: 4/4/02
Reviews written: 78
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 251 people
tips added: 17
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/20/05 1:53 PM
Last Updated: 3/10/10 5:06 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
I love decorative zipper pulls! But they sure do lose something when they're just clipped onto the existing pull. It's actually very easy to replace the existing pull with a decorative pull. No one will suspect it didn't come that way. Here's what you'll need:

*one split-ring about 3/8" in diameter (jump rings aren't as secure)
*zipper pull (or charm, beads, earring - use your imagination)
*diagonal cutter (I love my Fiskars cutter from JoAnn's)
*jewelry or small needle-nose pliers
*2nd split ring or a lanyard hook if your decorative pull doesn't have one

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
ColoSew said...
What is a split ring?
6/20/05 7:56 PM
Gigi Louis said...
A split ring is a smaller version of the rings used for car keys.
6/20/05 8:06 PM
Karla Kizer said...
They are the little beasts that eat up your manicure when you slide your thumbnail into the ring to pry it open enough to wedge a key onto. They come in a vast array of sizes. I bought a pack of small ones in assorted sizes at a craft store, in the jewelry-making aisle.
6/20/05 9:39 PM
gabrielle said...
Yay!!! Thank you, Gigi!
6/21/05 0:43 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Cool tip, Gigi, thanks!

Karla...oh no, don't use your fingernail! Use your nail file to pry it open :)
6/21/05 4:22 AM

joan said...
What's a diagonal cutter? I have several thingys I would like to use for zipper pulls
6/21/05 8:49 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Joan, a diagonal cutter is a very sharp cutter used to cut metal objects, wire, etc. The blades come in on a diagonal. Fiskars makes a great one with a small head that's also useful for nipping off any extra molded zipper teeth. I bought mine at JoAnn's years ago. You can find diagonal cutters at hardware stores but I find most of the heads kind of big.
6/21/05 9:30 PM
Gigi Louis said...
I forgot to mention, the diagonal cutters look like pliers.
6/21/05 9:31 PM
trintje said...
You can get COLORED split rings in the craft section at Wal-Mart (red, blue, green, aqua). They are a bit large for zipper pull rings, unless that's the look you're after.
6/30/05 3:36 AM
SewVeryTall said...
I found mini split rings in the beading section of crafts at Walmart...200 silver and gold tone for $1.88. These are 7/32" wide [a hair less than 1/4"], and should work great!

I was really surprised at how easily the zipper pull cut off with wire cutters [aka diagonal cutters]...that pull isn't made of steel, that's for sure, hehe. Thanks again Gigi!!!
8/20/05 5:27 AM

 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.