Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Press as you go (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5521 times
Review rated Helpful by 6 people   Very Helpful by 18 people   
Posted by: GorgeousFabrics
photo
About GorgeousFabrics starstarstarstar
Member since: 8/12/02
Reviews written: 63
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 255 people
tips added: 23
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/1/03 3:16 PM
I'll credit Georgene for inspiring me to share this tip. After sewing a seam, I immediately press the stitching line on each side of the fabric. This effectively "melts" the thread into the fabric, creating a ridgeless seamline. After pressing both sides, I then press the seam open, and it gives a very flat, very professional looking seam. This takes only slightly more time, but the results are really worth it.

Hope this helps
-Ann
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Everyday Sewist said...
Ann, I totally agree with you. I have been doing this since the day I started sewing. As a beginner, I make up the very simplest patterns. But people who see my work are always amazed that I made them myself on a simple little Kenmore. It's not that my clothes are fancy, or that I use any special techniques. I think it's because of my pressing. I press every seam just as you described. I think it makes the clothes drape better too.
1/1/03 4:02 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
Ann and Betty, this is one of my alltime favorites, it really makes a lot of difference in the end, the garments really hang better when you have put some extra time to do this little chore, Betty I'm very glad that you are doing this as a beginner in no time at all you'll be making more complicating things and with this one very basic technique already familiar to you, you can start learning something else, happy sewing hour to you both.
1/1/03 6:00 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I learned this tip in a beginning quilting class. My teacher called setting the seam. I think it is even more important to do when doing garment construction. Thanks for sharing this very important tip.
1/1/03 10:15 PM
Georgene said...
Thank you Ann for adding this, it makes such a difference in your finished garment. Underpressing is THE secret to a beautiful garment.
1/1/03 11:20 PM
Holly said...
When I started sewing back in August, I read somewhere that you are supposed to press the bobbin side of the seam only. It was probably at About Sewing.com. Did I get it wrong or is your technique more up to date, Ann?
1/2/03 3:09 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Hi Holly, I don't think my technique is more up to date, since I've been doing it since the 70s :). I press both sides because I notice a distinct difference. First, run your fingernail along the stitch line without pressing. You'll feel the bumps of the thread on both sides. Now if you press the bobbin side, that will press the thread into the fabric. But if you go and run your nail along both sides again, you will, in most cases, feel a difference between the side that has been pressed (smooth) and the side that has not been pressed (smoother than before, but not as smooth as the pressed side). Now, is bobbin only better than pressing both sides? I'm not sure. And I'd love to hear if anyone else has an opinion. I'll probably keep pressing both sides since it's part of my sewing habits. And you know what they say: old habits die hard! -Ann
1/2/03 4:02 PM
Dale C said...
Ann, on my nice garments, I also press both sides before pressing the seam open (or to the side). For other everyday stuff and those endless yards of home dec seams, I just press one side.
1/3/03 4:18 AM
Sharon Barnes said...
I also press the outside of the seam, using a press cloth, after the three passes on the inside. What a difference correct pressing makes. Great tip!
1/5/03 4:21 PM
Holly said...
As a newbie I read everything I can get my hands on. After seeing techniques duplicated in different ways, it's confusing to know what to use. Looks like this technique is a good habit to have and one that I'll be incorporating into my sewing. Thanks for taking the time to explain. :-)
1/5/03 6:25 PM
CArol Jean Berrett said...
Do you press the seam at first without opening it, then? Do you press both seams to one side initially (on both sides of fabric), and then press the seam open?
1/19/03 9:46 AM
Annette H said...
I've been sewing for many years but never thought to press in this way. it sounds like such a great idea, I'll be trying it today! Thanks - simple techniques can sometimes make a huge difference.
3/7/04 7:30 AM
inkyannie said...
Thanks for this tip. It is something I have never heard before. I will definately do this from now on.
1/25/06 1:08 AM
Calendria said...
I am soooo gonna try this. thank you
7/22/12 4:30 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us