SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Labeling bobbins

Viewed 5170 times
Posted by: Karla Kizer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Karla Kizer starstarstar
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 68
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 79 people
tips added: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/14/03 9:07 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 7 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I know there are gadgets out there for linking a spool of thread to its matching bobbin, but they don't seem to work well for me: putting things back where they belong is not one of my consistent strong points. I have started labeling my bobbins with those notebook paper reinforcements - the little doughnut-shaped stickons that you probably already have in a desk drawer somewhere.

I write the thread brand/type and the color code on the reinforcement in little bitty printing (hint: do this before you put it on the bobbin) and position it so the hole lines up with the one on the bobbin. Now I can identify which fiber and color is on each bobbin: no more Dark Navy Metrosene on top of the machine and Black Silk-finish cotton in the bobbin.

I would recommend checking the "fit" first to make sure that the reinforcement won't be peeled off by moving parts on your machine; a convenient label is not worth gumming up or jamming your sewing machine.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Gloria Allender said...
Karla, great idea. Now if only I can write small enough.
1/14/03 11:07 AM
Deepika said...
Great tip Karla. Now I have to rush to Staples again :)
1/14/03 12:49 PM
Star said...
Great tip, Karla. I write on my clear plastic bobbins with a sharpie pen.
1/14/03 4:07 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Star, I have done that, too, but it bothers me to have them permanently marked, so I switched to this removable label. What is WRONG with me?
1/14/03 9:55 PM
Ann B. said...
Karla, you have just the best ideas! I know this will work for my machine...it is the same model as yours. Im still in awe of the pill box idea. This is the first time ever my needles have been organized. Thanks bunches.
1/14/03 10:55 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Ann, thanks for the compliment. I'm glad the "pillbox method" is working for you, too. Re: the bobbin labels. Make usre you put them on the side of the bobbin with the little Viking symbol. That way they don't touch the machine mechanism and (bonus!) you can read the label through the clear bobbin cover when it is in the machine. I had forgotten that we have the same machine!
1/18/03 9:23 AM
Cloud9 said...
I like your idea using donut shaped stickons to mark my bobbins. Up until your suggestion, I was using a "Sharpie" marker to make notations on my bobbins but was wondering if I was ever going to be able to completely remove my notations with alcohol, or whatever.
4/24/03 10:03 PM
lornakismet said...
I'd be scared that the round thingie would gum up my new machine, but your post emphasizes to me that I had BETTER figure out a way of organizing bobbins with thread. BTW, those sticky round things would probably stick onto plastic bobbins but not to metal ones. -LornaKismet (Lorna A.)
4/30/06 11:29 PM
lornakismet said...
Karla -- What is the PILLBOX IDEA that Ann refers to in the comment below? : Karla, you have just the best ideas! I know this will work for my machine...it is the same model as yours. Im still in awe of the pill box idea. This is the first time ever my needles have been organized. Thanks bunches.
4/30/06 11:33 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Buy Now
PerfectFuse Medium Black

PerfectFuse Medium Black

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.