SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Spiral bind your sewing books

Viewed 5290 times
Posted by: Learn To Sew
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Learn To Sew star
Member since: 4/12/05
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 8 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/10/06 1:43 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 8 people   
I recently bought Fast Fit, but it was not spiral bound as I wanted. I was told at Jo-Ann's to go to LazerQuick and have it done. I did. They charged me $4.70. Now my book lies flat on my cutting table and I will not loose the page I was looking at if I put it down.

Carol

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
stitchinjj said...
A quilting buddy suggested this to me awhile ago. I love it and I get mine done at my local Staples. So many quilters have been coming in that they know what we want when they see us walk in the door! LOL!
4/23/06 11:34 AM
inkyannie said...
Very good idea. I think I will also do that with all the tips and things I have printed off the internet.
1/16/06 11:00 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Beth, and others, you can use a Sharpie to write the title on the spine. Or use a mailing label and write on it.
1/15/06 2:15 AM
Renee' S said...
Ann, if you have a Kinkos nearby, they'll spiral bind it for you.
1/11/06 3:10 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a great idea. I'll have to check around here for someplace like that.
1/11/06 1:55 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
Marvelous solution! I did this with a KwikSew Master Pattern book and it was soooo handy! The only problem is, the spiral binding doesn't identify the book when it's on my bookshelf. I think I'll use different colors for identification. Also, in response to Ann Chafin's comment, some office supply stores call spiral binding different things--comb binding, velo binding, etc. so (hopefully) Staples was confused. My hometown (non-Staples) office supply store didn't know what it was until I explained it to them; then they called it something entirely different! So when I'm ready to do it again, I'll take the book in.
1/11/06 7:01 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
Marvelous solution! I did this with a KwikSew Master Pattern book and it was soooo handy! The only problem is, the spiral binding doesn't identify the book when it's on my bookshelf. I think I'll use different colors for identification. Also, in response to Ann Chafin's comment, some office supply stores call spiral binding different things--comb binding, velo binding, etc. so (hopefully) Staples was confused. My hometown (non-Staples) office supply store didn't know what it was until I explained it to them; then they called it something entirely different! So when I'm realdy to do it again, I'll take the book in.
1/11/06 7:00 AM
annsew65 said...
BooHoo, Wish I had a LazerQuick near by! I took a book to Staples (my only office supply box store nearby) and they don't do it! I have a few books I'd love to have done this way! I really love some of the newer sewing books that have this feature. Makes using them so much easier when using as a reference while sewing!
1/11/06 4:04 AM
SewVeryTall said...
This is nice to know...and it's not very expensive...it is annoying to lose the page you're on. I have a couple cookbooks that I'd like to see spiral bound. Thanks for the tip!
1/11/06 0:25 AM
Mirza said...
Great idea especially if it a book you refer to often. Thanks!
1/10/06 3:12 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

A-Door-Ables

A-Door-Ables

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Bohemian Carpet Bag Pattern

Sew Liberated Bohemian  Carpet Bag Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.