Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Spiral bind your sewing books (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5128 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 8 people   
Posted by: Learn To Sew
photo
Friend of PR
About Learn To Sew star
WA USA
Member since: 4/12/05
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/10/06 1:43 PM
I recently bought Fast Fit, but it was not spiral bound as I wanted. I was told at Jo-Ann's to go to LazerQuick and have it done. I did. They charged me $4.70. Now my book lies flat on my cutting table and I will not loose the page I was looking at if I put it down.

Carol
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mirza said...
Great idea especially if it a book you refer to often. Thanks!
1/10/06 3:12 PM
SewVeryTall said...
This is nice to know...and it's not very expensive...it is annoying to lose the page you're on. I have a couple cookbooks that I'd like to see spiral bound. Thanks for the tip!
1/11/06 0:25 AM
annsew65 said...
BooHoo, Wish I had a LazerQuick near by! I took a book to Staples (my only office supply box store nearby) and they don't do it! I have a few books I'd love to have done this way! I really love some of the newer sewing books that have this feature. Makes using them so much easier when using as a reference while sewing!
1/11/06 4:04 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
Marvelous solution! I did this with a KwikSew Master Pattern book and it was soooo handy! The only problem is, the spiral binding doesn't identify the book when it's on my bookshelf. I think I'll use different colors for identification. Also, in response to Ann Chafin's comment, some office supply stores call spiral binding different things--comb binding, velo binding, etc. so (hopefully) Staples was confused. My hometown (non-Staples) office supply store didn't know what it was until I explained it to them; then they called it something entirely different! So when I'm realdy to do it again, I'll take the book in.
1/11/06 7:00 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
Marvelous solution! I did this with a KwikSew Master Pattern book and it was soooo handy! The only problem is, the spiral binding doesn't identify the book when it's on my bookshelf. I think I'll use different colors for identification. Also, in response to Ann Chafin's comment, some office supply stores call spiral binding different things--comb binding, velo binding, etc. so (hopefully) Staples was confused. My hometown (non-Staples) office supply store didn't know what it was until I explained it to them; then they called it something entirely different! So when I'm ready to do it again, I'll take the book in.
1/11/06 7:01 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a great idea. I'll have to check around here for someplace like that.
1/11/06 1:55 PM
Renee' S said...
Ann, if you have a Kinkos nearby, they'll spiral bind it for you.
1/11/06 3:10 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Beth, and others, you can use a Sharpie to write the title on the spine. Or use a mailing label and write on it.
1/15/06 2:15 AM
inkyannie said...
Very good idea. I think I will also do that with all the tips and things I have printed off the internet.
1/16/06 11:00 PM
stitchinjj said...
A quilting buddy suggested this to me awhile ago. I love it and I get mine done at my local Staples. So many quilters have been coming in that they know what we want when they see us walk in the door! LOL!
4/23/06 11:34 AM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us