SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Spiral bind your sewing books

Viewed 5225 times
Posted by: Learn To Sew
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Learn To Sew star
Member since: 4/12/05
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 8 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/10/06 1:43 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 8 people   
I recently bought Fast Fit, but it was not spiral bound as I wanted. I was told at Jo-Ann's to go to LazerQuick and have it done. I did. They charged me $4.70. Now my book lies flat on my cutting table and I will not loose the page I was looking at if I put it down.

Carol

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Mirza said...
Great idea especially if it a book you refer to often. Thanks!
1/10/06 3:12 PM
SewVeryTall said...
This is nice to know...and it's not very expensive...it is annoying to lose the page you're on. I have a couple cookbooks that I'd like to see spiral bound. Thanks for the tip!
1/11/06 0:25 AM
annsew65 said...
BooHoo, Wish I had a LazerQuick near by! I took a book to Staples (my only office supply box store nearby) and they don't do it! I have a few books I'd love to have done this way! I really love some of the newer sewing books that have this feature. Makes using them so much easier when using as a reference while sewing!
1/11/06 4:04 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
Marvelous solution! I did this with a KwikSew Master Pattern book and it was soooo handy! The only problem is, the spiral binding doesn't identify the book when it's on my bookshelf. I think I'll use different colors for identification. Also, in response to Ann Chafin's comment, some office supply stores call spiral binding different things--comb binding, velo binding, etc. so (hopefully) Staples was confused. My hometown (non-Staples) office supply store didn't know what it was until I explained it to them; then they called it something entirely different! So when I'm realdy to do it again, I'll take the book in.
1/11/06 7:00 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
Marvelous solution! I did this with a KwikSew Master Pattern book and it was soooo handy! The only problem is, the spiral binding doesn't identify the book when it's on my bookshelf. I think I'll use different colors for identification. Also, in response to Ann Chafin's comment, some office supply stores call spiral binding different things--comb binding, velo binding, etc. so (hopefully) Staples was confused. My hometown (non-Staples) office supply store didn't know what it was until I explained it to them; then they called it something entirely different! So when I'm ready to do it again, I'll take the book in.
1/11/06 7:01 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a great idea. I'll have to check around here for someplace like that.
1/11/06 1:55 PM
Renee' S said...
Ann, if you have a Kinkos nearby, they'll spiral bind it for you.
1/11/06 3:10 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Beth, and others, you can use a Sharpie to write the title on the spine. Or use a mailing label and write on it.
1/15/06 2:15 AM
inkyannie said...
Very good idea. I think I will also do that with all the tips and things I have printed off the internet.
1/16/06 11:00 PM
stitchinjj said...
A quilting buddy suggested this to me awhile ago. I love it and I get mine done at my local Staples. So many quilters have been coming in that they know what we want when they see us walk in the door! LOL!
4/23/06 11:34 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Sew Liberated Esme Top Pattern

Sew Liberated Esme Top Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.