Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Organizer for everyday sewing (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5315 times
Review rated Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 10 people   
Posted by: Debbie Lancaster
photo
Friend of PR
About Debbie Lancaster star
CA USA
Member since: 9/18/02
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
tips added: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/13/06 4:06 PM
Last Updated: 6/30/12 7:46 PM
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
I have cats. Cats love to play with small things. Cats will eat pins. Cats will bite through measuring tapes. Cats will chew on pencils. Cats will throw your smallest scissors onto the floor and skid it under something where you will never find it until you do your yearly spring cleaning. Cats and sewing notions don't mix, especially in the next bedroom, on a wood floor, in the middle of the night.

I've had one of those cheap multi-drawer carts for years, but only lately did it occur to me that I was using it the wrong way. I had carefully separated all my sewing notions into categories: thread, needles and handsewing, scissors and measuring tools. As elizajo said in a tip, you need to put things not into categories, but into *tasks*. Now, I didn't know about elizajo's tip until I sat down here to write down mine, but I truly thank her for verbalizing what I only murkily realized.

What I realized was that I was going to the cart at least a dozen times every time I went into the sewing room to do some sewing. Once for the pins and rotary cutter. Another time for the little scissors to snip notches. Another time for yet another thing that I had forgotten to pick up. It's only a few steps, but it was getting really frustrating! And then when I finished, everything had to be put away into its own little drawer to keep the cats from using it as a ping-pong ball when I wasn't there.

So I dumped everything out of one small drawer and redistributed it. I got out a few of the small boxes that I obsessively save (for just this reason), and put them into the drawer. I took out all the things I normally use when actually sewing, and put them into the various boxes. And voila! What I have now is a single drawer that I can remove from the cart and put next to my sewing machine, and into which everything goes back when I'm done so I can put it away where the cats (unless they get a *lot* smarter) can't get them.

Click on the link above to see my organizer. Clockwise from upper left: sewing machine needles and feet; ruler, tube turner (hidden behind the ruler), measuring tape, seam gauge, Grabbit pincushion, colored pencils for tracing, and chalk; scissors and seam rippers and other pointy things; hand-sewing needles, Thread Heaven and clip-on magnifiers; pattern tape, post-it flags.

Phew! You'd think that after forty years of sewing, *I'd* be smarter, but at least it happened finally!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annie- oh said...
Debbie - thanks for taking the time to submit this - every little bit helps us (who think we're pretty smart) - Annie
1/13/06 8:33 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Good tip, Debbie...also, it's nice to know that I'm not the only one who saves boxes for stuff like this, hehe. I empty a box of tissues, soda crackers, velveeta, etc., and it's hard to throw them away...I cut the ends or bottom off, and cover w/fabric...perfect drawer dividers.
1/14/06 3:53 AM
Lizz said...
Debbie- thanks! I have shoe boxes organized by job. The one marked "cutting out" contains everything I need to cut out a pattern and mark the pieces. My "pressing" box holds the press cloth, sizing, starch, ham, mitt, etc. It saves me a gazillion steps to have these close tot he spot where theya re needed.
1/14/06 9:01 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
I have my drawers organized by task too, but I never thought to take the whole drawer out while I'm working. That's genius. I'm grateful for you sharing the idea, but my kitties will not be happy with this new system.
1/15/06 6:54 PM
Elphaba said...
Smart ! Now I need a cart ! Thanks for the tip - I needed it.
1/15/06 9:47 PM
bubbagirl said...
I found the article very informative.
1/18/06 5:57 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
Great tip! Boxes that checks come in work fine, too. Also, fancy soap boxes for pins, that way, the pins will smell nice. Also, I saved a metal box that you find at a craft shop to give out cookies (hinged on one side). That's great for storing my rotary cutters and I take the box to my cutting table. But is that all the notions you have? I must be a notion-o-holic then!
1/18/06 7:38 PM
Debbie Lancaster said...
Beth, LOL! No, I have lots more notions, but those are the ones I *always* need.
1/19/06 9:37 AM
vasallese said...
Thank you, my sewing room is very chaotic, but I have been unable to figure out a way to get my needed equipment stored but easily retrieved. I wind up with about 5-10 of everyhting, & they are all over the place. Maybe I will get organized this year!
1/28/06 3:52 PM
Ec said...
Chocolate boxes are perfect for this - and you HAVE to eat the chocolates first, of course!! Sharing is optional :) tee hee!
2/5/06 11:09 PM
stitchinjj said...
I use one of the mini drawer organizers too. I have the most used stuff in the top drawer and keep the pin cushion in there so that my cats won't play with it. My unit sits right next to my machine so I can leave the drawer slightly open when I am sewing and close it when I leave the room. My 4 cats haven't learned to open it yet!
4/23/06 11:31 AM
Myla said...
What an idea! I take a sewing class & have each item in a different plastic cosmetic bag. Like you, I constantly have to take out all the bags. Now, I will put scissors, needles, etc. all in one bag. Thank you!
1/3/07 6:26 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us