SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Non gaping wide low necklines.

Viewed 5443 times
Posted by: els
photo

 
 
About els starstar
NA NETHERLANDS
Member since: 1/28/03
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 49 people
tips added: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/16/06 1:29 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 17 people   
Featured in the PR book!
Using a pattern which calls for a wide and low neckline can show off your cleavage but can also result in some not wanting looks from others if your bend your body.
A wide and low neckline will not hug your body if the garment is not tight fitting, like a top or blouse.
To prevent some gaping while bending you can sew a small piece of boning covered in a fabric tube. Sew both ends shut, or if you want to remove the boning for washing or dry cleaning use a snap to close the fabric tube at the bottom part.
The top of the tube needs to be attached ( sewed or use a snap) at the inside of the center front neckline, or at the left side of the facing behind the button marking if your garment has a front closure like a blouse .
This way you can slip the boned tube into your bra. The result is a nice cleavage and no problems when bending over, the wide neckline will hug your body now.
I can not remember where I read or heard this tip but it is not my invention.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


12 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
chick3y said...
I'm having trouble visualizing this. Could you please post a picture for us visual learners :) Thanks
1/16/06 1:40 PM
Judy Williment said...
What a great idea! Thanks for posting it.
1/16/06 8:57 PM
lynny said...
Thank-you, an easy fix for a problem I have encountered in the past.
1/17/06 5:10 AM
SewVeryTall said...
What a cool idea, thanks for posting this Els! It's sort of like "paper clipping" your blouse to your bra.
1/17/06 7:03 AM
Penny Carlson said...
I can try to explain this a bit better. I use a collar stay for this technique, though. Make a thin tube of lightweight fabric, insert the stay, and sew the ends closed. Now, holding it VERTICALLY, tack the top of the stay to the center front neckline, about half an inch or so below the neck edge. It's best if you mark the place to sew it while wearing the top with the bra you'll wear with it. You will stick the free end of the stay into your bra. It works great! I think the tip comes from Claire Schaefer.
1/17/06 5:25 PM
els said...
Thanks Penny, for the more clear explanation.
1/17/06 5:45 PM
Sew it seams said...
Wow! That is a great tip! Thank you Els, and also Penny.
1/18/06 9:19 AM
Luckylibbet said...
I had that problem with the blouse I made for New Year's. I will follow this tip today so it's ready for the next fancy occasion.
1/18/06 10:04 AM
Patti B said...
What a great idea. I have a pattern to try it on too.
1/24/06 11:12 PM
Asa Hagstrom said...
I remember reading something similar in Susan Khalje's Bridal Sewing book. Thank you for reminding us about it!
1/25/06 3:53 AM
martinanne said...
Very clever!
1/27/06 6:47 AM
Eider said...
Great tip, one I plan to use often . Thanks for sharing it .
4/28/07 11:45 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Buy Now
9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.