SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Use Shoelaces for a drawstring!

Viewed 5639 times
Posted by: SewingSkater
photo

 
 
About SewingSkater starstar
MI USA
Member since: 1/5/05
Reviews written: 57
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 34 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/17/06 1:08 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 10 people   
While recently making a pair of velour pants with a drawstring waist, I was at odds trying to decide what to use for a drawstring. I ended up using polyester twill tape, but wasn't completely satisfied with it. Then I looked at a pair of pants I had... the ends of the drawstring had the plastic shoelace type of thing on it. Then it hit me... use shoelaces for drawstrings!

You can buy shoelaces in lengths from 27 to 72 inches. http://www.lacesforless.com sells them in all lengths and has a large variety of colors.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


12 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Cornelia said...
Wow! Great tip. Lots of cool possibilities. some of the multicolors might be good to suggest trim colors for athletic wear.
1/17/06 1:48 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
How cool - I didn't know that they came in that many lengths. Thanks for the info.
1/17/06 6:40 PM
aeme said...
Would you do something different with the ends or leave the tips on them? That's a great idea (and good timing, too, I was so inspired by your velour pants that I'm making mine very soon!).
1/17/06 11:20 PM
annsew65 said...
Sewingskater, I recently made a pair of velour pants for DD for Christmas and was stuck for the drawstring too. I ended up with laces from Walmart - very soft, white ones that flattened out when put under tension. She said that they are quite comfortable! Great idea! While their variety is limited, they worked pretty well for these pale lavender lounge pants.
1/18/06 1:31 AM
Nickle said...
Good tip- I recently used them on a poncho for ties-worked great.
1/18/06 5:24 AM
Jan B. said...
I just used a shoe lace on my yoga mat bag. After running the lace through the casing, I used a "spring clip thingy" purchased at Hancocks Fabrics (NA) for adjustability. It sure works great, and one needn't worry about it raveling. By the way, the "plastic thingy on the end of a lace" is called an aglet. Hopefully someone knows what the "spring clip thingy" is :-)
1/18/06 1:51 PM
Gigi Louis said...
What a great tip!
1/18/06 2:39 PM
slanden99 said...
I actually bought some RTW Tommy Hilfiger pants a few years back that had a shoelace drawstring in the waistband. Now that I've worn out the pants, I'll be sure to recycle the shoelace drawstring.
1/18/06 6:37 PM
Minya, Warrior Seamstress said...
This tip brought back memories of me taking new 60" shoelaces to Rennaissance Festivals because someone always needed a drawstring. Drawstring too short, elastic broke, removed drawstring for washing and forgot to reinstall it, needed to tie something to an already overfull pack--it never failed, I'd be going home with at most one remaining shoelace.
1/18/06 8:38 PM
BjP said...
Thanks for adding the link to this supplier. I've been searching high and low for drawstring in different colors, and now here is a solution! Great tip!
1/20/06 0:29 AM
casken said...
Great tip! thanks.
1/21/06 10:56 AM
annie-TX said...
I will be using a Pate-Meadows "Lace-up valance" pattern for my grandson's bedroom window. I thought laces instead of fabric for the ties would look nicer for his soccer decor. But didn't have a clue as to where to find the color and the length I would need. Thanks to you, my problem is solved. Ann
2/9/06 12:46 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Buy Now
Pants Sewing DVD

Pants Sewing DVD

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.