SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Cleaning Serger and Sewing Machine

Viewed 5224 times
Posted by: mszcat
photo

 
 
About mszcat
NV USA
Member since: 11/9/05
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Beginner
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/19/06 4:14 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 3 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I never liked the tiny little brushes that came with the serger and sewing machine so what I did was just buy those computer cleaning duster (pressurized Air Duster) and it just blows all the lints out of my serger and sewing machine. It's moisture -free and does not leave any residue.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Mimicj said...
I think it is safer to use the small vacumn attachment to vacumn out the lint instead of blowing the lint deeper inside the serger. Check with your friends in the Viking Dept at your Joanns.
1/20/06 12:49 PM
Pam Z said...
I've been advised by my dealer not to use canned air to clean my serger or sewing machine. Like Mimicj, I am concerned about blowing lint and bits of thread into the machine.
1/21/06 2:41 AM
Mufffet said...
There is a whole thread on the boards about the canned air thing - seems that is what a lot of people use with no trouble, so the thread appears under the heading Sewing Machines, and it is worth reading. I have never done anything but brush it out and blow in it...no it seems maybe I shouldn't blow in it. :)
1/21/06 6:30 PM
progress said...
Your idea is a good one. Thanks
1/25/06 10:42 PM
jbackert said...
I also use computer air to clean my serger and sewing machine. I think it works great, despite concerns to the contrary.
1/26/06 9:20 PM
Dee Slade said...
I have heard that when you use this method to clean your machines, you can blow the dust, etc INTO your machine and thus covering the inside with it. This will cause your machine to sieze up. It is better to use a vacuum attachment and take dest away from your machines.
2/23/06 6:26 PM
mrspenguin said...
I'm not sure about the concerns.... but I just tried it and blew an amazing amount of dust *out* of my serger!
5/6/06 6:28 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.