Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Timer in the sewing room (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5156 times
Review rated Helpful by 7 people   Very Helpful by 8 people   
Posted by: Karla Kizer
photo
Friend of PR
About Karla Kizer starstarstar
FL USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 68
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 79 people
tips added: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/21/06 8:52 AM
Featured in the PR book!
I get so engrossed in whatever project I'm working on that I can work right through important mini-deadlines. As a result, I've had countless loads of clothes left to wrinkle in the dryer, food cooked to a charcoal crust, and morning speed-showers and minimalist makeup on work days. I bought a timer for the sewing room, and now I set it as a reminder to stop what I'm doing and take care of life's annoying sewing interruptions - work, food, clean clothes, etc.
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewVeryTall said...
Good idea Karla...and you could also use it to see how long a project took you to complete [sometimes I'm just curious about this].
1/21/06 9:16 AM
Kim Winson said...
Karla, I set a timer as well! Whew, glad I'm not the only one that needs it. Thanks for posting this tip!
1/21/06 9:58 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Isn't it amazing how fast time goes when you're sewing... ;) Great idea!
1/21/06 2:15 PM
KarenP said...
I could use this a reminder to go to bed! I usually make sure I'm wearing my watch so I don't accidently stay up too late.
1/21/06 4:07 PM
sjm said...
I take my kitchen timer with me, to a comfy armchair, to wake me after an afternoon snooze!!
1/21/06 5:05 PM
Tov said...
Excellent idea, thanks!
1/21/06 6:29 PM
PixieCat said...
I do this too! Especially when I have laundry going so I don't end up with a wrinkled mess in the dryer. Great tip!
1/22/06 6:36 AM
Supa said...
I do this when sewing in the afternoon so I dont miss school pick up time!!
1/23/06 8:25 AM
France said...
Great idea, I should use it too, especially when I am so involved in my project I forget I am supposed to go to bed at night.
1/23/06 11:27 PM
BeckyC said...
I too, have a timer in my sewing room for life's little annoyances. I found a timer at an upscale kitchen store that I can hang around my neck. So if I walk out of the room, I can still hear the timer. (It also tells me when my kids are about to walk through the door after school and when DH is about to come home, so I can run to the kitchen to open those prepackaged meals for dinner.....)
1/25/06 6:02 PM
martinanne said...
That is a great tip! I'm always complaining about how I don't have enough time to sew. But I know I could squeeze in a lot more time if I weren't so afraid to get sucked into a project and miss important things I have to take care of. I'm going to try the timer trick. Even 10 or 15 minutes at a time will add up.
1/27/06 6:42 AM
Elaine Penney said...
I'm a timer user, also. It has saved many a dryer load meal. I also set it hourly to remind me to do a 5-10 min stretch and walk on my treadmill. This gets the oxygen flowing again and keeps me focused. I make fewer mistakes that way.
1/28/06 8:03 AM
Karla Kizer said...
"to remind me to do a 5-10 min stretch and walk on my treadmill." Note to self: buy a treadmill. :(
1/28/06 9:01 AM
stitchinjj said...
LOL! I am in my 50's too and have had to use the timer for the last few years. My laundry room is adjacent to the sewing room and the machines have beepers so that isn't a problem, but I used the timer to remind me about other things! I also keep my tv on in the sewing room. It causes me to look up occasionally and that relieves stress in my neck and shoulders. Most shows are 30 minutes and just that reminds me of how long I have been sewing. One day I put it on the music channel and sewed way longer than I should have.
4/23/06 11:27 AM
Mufffet said...
Karla, what a groovy idea! I sometimes use the kitchen timer to remind myself, but this would be even better! Thanks!
11/14/07 0:13 AM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us