SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Timer in the sewing room

Viewed 5309 times
Posted by: Karla Kizer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Karla Kizer starstarstar
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 68
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 83 people
tips added: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/21/06 8:52 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 7 people   Very Helpful by 8 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I get so engrossed in whatever project I'm working on that I can work right through important mini-deadlines. As a result, I've had countless loads of clothes left to wrinkle in the dryer, food cooked to a charcoal crust, and morning speed-showers and minimalist makeup on work days. I bought a timer for the sewing room, and now I set it as a reminder to stop what I'm doing and take care of life's annoying sewing interruptions - work, food, clean clothes, etc.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


15 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Mufffet said...
Karla, what a groovy idea! I sometimes use the kitchen timer to remind myself, but this would be even better! Thanks!
11/14/07 0:13 AM
stitchinjj said...
LOL! I am in my 50's too and have had to use the timer for the last few years. My laundry room is adjacent to the sewing room and the machines have beepers so that isn't a problem, but I used the timer to remind me about other things! I also keep my tv on in the sewing room. It causes me to look up occasionally and that relieves stress in my neck and shoulders. Most shows are 30 minutes and just that reminds me of how long I have been sewing. One day I put it on the music channel and sewed way longer than I should have.
4/23/06 11:27 AM
Karla Kizer said...
"to remind me to do a 5-10 min stretch and walk on my treadmill." Note to self: buy a treadmill. :(
1/28/06 9:01 AM
Elaine Penney said...
I'm a timer user, also. It has saved many a dryer load meal. I also set it hourly to remind me to do a 5-10 min stretch and walk on my treadmill. This gets the oxygen flowing again and keeps me focused. I make fewer mistakes that way.
1/28/06 8:03 AM
martinanne said...
That is a great tip! I'm always complaining about how I don't have enough time to sew. But I know I could squeeze in a lot more time if I weren't so afraid to get sucked into a project and miss important things I have to take care of. I'm going to try the timer trick. Even 10 or 15 minutes at a time will add up.
1/27/06 6:42 AM
BeckyC said...
I too, have a timer in my sewing room for life's little annoyances. I found a timer at an upscale kitchen store that I can hang around my neck. So if I walk out of the room, I can still hear the timer. (It also tells me when my kids are about to walk through the door after school and when DH is about to come home, so I can run to the kitchen to open those prepackaged meals for dinner.....)
1/25/06 6:02 PM
France said...
Great idea, I should use it too, especially when I am so involved in my project I forget I am supposed to go to bed at night.
1/23/06 11:27 PM
Supa said...
I do this when sewing in the afternoon so I dont miss school pick up time!!
1/23/06 8:25 AM
PixieCat said...
I do this too! Especially when I have laundry going so I don't end up with a wrinkled mess in the dryer. Great tip!
1/22/06 6:36 AM
Tov said...
Excellent idea, thanks!
1/21/06 6:29 PM
sjm said...
I take my kitchen timer with me, to a comfy armchair, to wake me after an afternoon snooze!!
1/21/06 5:05 PM
KarenP said...
I could use this a reminder to go to bed! I usually make sure I'm wearing my watch so I don't accidently stay up too late.
1/21/06 4:07 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Isn't it amazing how fast time goes when you're sewing... ;) Great idea!
1/21/06 2:15 PM
Kim Winson said...
Karla, I set a timer as well! Whew, glad I'm not the only one that needs it. Thanks for posting this tip!
1/21/06 9:58 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Good idea Karla...and you could also use it to see how long a project took you to complete [sometimes I'm just curious about this].
1/21/06 9:16 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.