SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Sewing Organization: A To Buy Box

Viewed 5283 times
Posted by: sewlily
photo

 
 
About sewlily star
IA USA
Member since: 2/21/04
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
tips added: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/22/06 8:08 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 12 people   
Web site/URL: photo
So many times I stand before the thread and notion wall during the 50% off sales and wonder what should I buy. I decided to create a to buy box. All my empty needle containers, thread spools, bits of elastic, empty notion containers go in the to buy box. That way the next time I go to the 50% off sale or see some great coop buy, I'll know just what I am missing.

For elastic and interfacing, I put in some scraps to remind me that a) I am getting low and b) what kind I am getting low on.

The needle containers and empty spool threads tell me what I am using the most of so I can stay stocked up.

I also foresee putting little notes in there to remind me of larger tools that I would like in the future such as a thread cone stand. Etc.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
moppet said...
A terrific idea, if only I was this organzed! I'd forget to review or take the box with me unless I was going specifically to buy such items
1/28/06 12:55 PM
Ahuva said...
Great idea.
1/26/06 6:05 PM
appleC said...
Good idea on leaving a thread on the spool. I might also want to throw in some fabric swatches of future project so I can find the right color of thread to match with.
1/26/06 9:48 AM
Tov said...
Oh, this is good. Thanks for sharing the idea.
1/25/06 1:49 AM
inkyannie said...
Good idea. Thanks
1/25/06 1:15 AM
Gigi Louis said...
I do something similar. No box, just basically keeping it all in one place until I can make out a list. I'm glad to see you leave a little thread on the spool. It's no fun standing in front of the Metrosene rack with a long list of numbers having no clue which color family to look at. :-O
1/23/06 10:00 PM
sewbit said...
What a great idea!!!!! I,m surely going to try this one.
1/23/06 8:53 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Great idea. I hate standing at the notions wall thinking "I've got to buy SOMETHING: it's on SALE"
1/23/06 6:47 AM
10Ksteps said...
Good idea; I am always looking for ways to get more organized and this is definitely a good idea that I can apply myself. Thanks.
1/22/06 11:46 PM
Cloud9 said...
Hi SewLily, What a terrific idea. I am a visual person so I can relate to this tip. Thank you so much.
1/22/06 8:42 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

More Info
Maggie

Maggie

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.