SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Replace seam ripper regularly

Viewed 5266 times
Posted by: Allie in Hong Kong
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Allie in Hong Kong starstarstarstar
NA HONG KONG
Member since: 9/2/03
Reviews written: 90
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 92 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/27/06 5:50 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 11 people   
Featured in the PR book!
This is so completely obvious now that I feel embarrassed posting it. But at the time it was a revelation and maybe there is someone out there that this tip will help!

I have been using the same seam ripper for years and on a whim bought a new one with a slightly larger handle. Wow what a difference - not the handle, but the new sharp blade. It made such a difference in ripping seams compared to the old one which was obviously blunt. It's never a nice job to do, but so much easier with a decent blade, and less likely to pull and damage fabric
.
I know to change needles and sharpen scissors but for some reason it never occured to me to change my seam ripper.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
kbcs682 said...
I had the same 'aha' when I lost mine a few years ago. Now I have 3 of them floating around the house (all sharp!) Another good 'seam ripper' was a pair of small suture scissors from when my son had 5 stitches last year. I don't recommend the stitches but the scissors are great!
1/30/06 11:08 PM
Judy Williment said...
I know just what you mean about being almost too embarrassed to post this - a year or so ago I lost the one I'd been using. It came in the tool kit with my brand new sewing machine - about 20 years ago. The new one was such an improvement! I am still embarrassed at how that surprised me.
1/29/06 7:15 PM
drsue said...
A very good point! (pun intended)
1/29/06 3:18 PM
Robin H said...
I sharpen mine too, I'm a dentist, and the tiny ceramic sharpener for dentists' instruments works great. If you have a dentist or hygenist you are friendly with, you might be able to borrow/buy one. When I have a lot of ripping to do, like last week when I completely recut a pattern from the waist up after sewing all the darts and seams, I use a scalpel virtually identical to the ripper with the replacable blades.
1/28/06 11:53 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
I have one of those surgical seam rippers that you can change the blade and I love it. Just for that reason.
1/28/06 9:46 AM
Karla Kizer said...
I buy new ones, then forget to toss the old ones. I might as well try to use a butter knife.
1/28/06 9:15 AM
PKPudlin said...
I have a seam ripper that has a brass handle and is part of a set, so I'd rather not toss it. Dremel sells 2 different sized sharpening stones for chainsaws, and the smaller one makes my seam ripper work like new! I put a touch of oil on before I sharpen and it only takes a couple of sweeps. Just something to keep in your back pocket if you have a seam ripper like mine that you'd rather not dispose of.
1/28/06 6:48 AM
Jodi B. said...
I'm with you -- obvious now that you mention it, but I'd never thought of it, either. I'll pick a couple up tomorrow!
1/27/06 11:15 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
I try to pick up one at every other 1/2 off notions sale. Speaking of, Hancock's is this weekend....
1/27/06 11:26 AM
Debbie Lancaster said...
Brilliant. Why didn't I think of that?
1/27/06 9:32 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Claire Handbag

Claire Handbag

More Info
Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.