SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Replace seam ripper regularly

Viewed 5263 times
Posted by: Allie in Hong Kong
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Allie in Hong Kong starstarstarstar
NA HONG KONG
Member since: 9/2/03
Reviews written: 90
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 92 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/27/06 5:50 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 11 people   
Featured in the PR book!
This is so completely obvious now that I feel embarrassed posting it. But at the time it was a revelation and maybe there is someone out there that this tip will help!

I have been using the same seam ripper for years and on a whim bought a new one with a slightly larger handle. Wow what a difference - not the handle, but the new sharp blade. It made such a difference in ripping seams compared to the old one which was obviously blunt. It's never a nice job to do, but so much easier with a decent blade, and less likely to pull and damage fabric
.
I know to change needles and sharpen scissors but for some reason it never occured to me to change my seam ripper.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
kbcs682 said...
I had the same 'aha' when I lost mine a few years ago. Now I have 3 of them floating around the house (all sharp!) Another good 'seam ripper' was a pair of small suture scissors from when my son had 5 stitches last year. I don't recommend the stitches but the scissors are great!
1/30/06 11:08 PM
Judy Williment said...
I know just what you mean about being almost too embarrassed to post this - a year or so ago I lost the one I'd been using. It came in the tool kit with my brand new sewing machine - about 20 years ago. The new one was such an improvement! I am still embarrassed at how that surprised me.
1/29/06 7:15 PM
drsue said...
A very good point! (pun intended)
1/29/06 3:18 PM
Robin H said...
I sharpen mine too, I'm a dentist, and the tiny ceramic sharpener for dentists' instruments works great. If you have a dentist or hygenist you are friendly with, you might be able to borrow/buy one. When I have a lot of ripping to do, like last week when I completely recut a pattern from the waist up after sewing all the darts and seams, I use a scalpel virtually identical to the ripper with the replacable blades.
1/28/06 11:53 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
I have one of those surgical seam rippers that you can change the blade and I love it. Just for that reason.
1/28/06 9:46 AM
Karla Kizer said...
I buy new ones, then forget to toss the old ones. I might as well try to use a butter knife.
1/28/06 9:15 AM
PKPudlin said...
I have a seam ripper that has a brass handle and is part of a set, so I'd rather not toss it. Dremel sells 2 different sized sharpening stones for chainsaws, and the smaller one makes my seam ripper work like new! I put a touch of oil on before I sharpen and it only takes a couple of sweeps. Just something to keep in your back pocket if you have a seam ripper like mine that you'd rather not dispose of.
1/28/06 6:48 AM
Jodi B. said...
I'm with you -- obvious now that you mention it, but I'd never thought of it, either. I'll pick a couple up tomorrow!
1/27/06 11:15 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
I try to pick up one at every other 1/2 off notions sale. Speaking of, Hancock's is this weekend....
1/27/06 11:26 AM
Debbie Lancaster said...
Brilliant. Why didn't I think of that?
1/27/06 9:32 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Buy Now
SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.