SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Pleating with a fork

Viewed 5796 times
Posted by: Saskia
photo

 
 
About Saskia star
GERMANY
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 2/11/06 2:51 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 24 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
Pleating with a fork is a fast and easy way, to make knife pleats of the same depths without marking the fabric.
1. Step: Slide the fork into the fabric (see picture above). The Number of prongs you have above and under the fabric defines the width of the pleat.
2. Step: Now turn the fork around. The fabric will form a pleat.
3. Step: Carefully pull out the fork and put a pin into the fabric to keep the pleat in place.

Now you can add the second pleat the same way. After turning the fork, you can push the fork in the right place so the pleats will adjoin perfectly. Or you can push in the fork, mark with a pin and then set the next pleat a fork-width apart.

Happy pleating!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


17 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Lorna C. Newman said...
Veile, Danke! Excellent tip ... I may use it and actually make some pleated curtains now!
2/11/06 7:43 AM
vasallese said...
Never thought of this. & maybe I'll do some pleats now. Thanks.
2/11/06 8:26 AM
Mandi Ballard said...
that's so great. No more obsessive ruler measurements for me!
2/11/06 8:48 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
I love this. I saw your illustration of this in your review and thought it was just brilliant. Thanks! -Ann
2/11/06 9:21 AM
Gramma Rosie said...
WOW! thanks for the great tip. My "saved tips" folder is getting full. Along with the senior moments I am having a lot of those "duh" ones. Now I just have to remember where the folder is.............. Thanks much.
2/11/06 9:59 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Well, son of a gun. How clever can you get?
2/11/06 2:11 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a clever woman. I'm sure we all appreciate this one.
2/11/06 7:55 PM
Cloud9 said...
Dear Saskia, You are brilliant. This tip/technique is a keeper! Thank you!
2/11/06 11:49 PM
cherry said...
I admit I already knew this one - I use it in costuming when a quick ruffle is needed. You can do this as you sew, no need to pin! Either use a zigzg stitch just to anchor the pleats, or sew the pleated edge onto a plain piece of fabric.
2/12/06 8:14 AM
joyrainbow said...
Very cute.
2/12/06 10:58 AM
Oie said...
What an inventive idea!? Makes me think, "Now why didn't I think of that?" Very cool and bound to save me TONS of time on my mini-skirts. Thanx soooo much!
2/16/06 0:07 AM
KAB said...
Superb! Very impressive. Thank you for sharing this technique.
4/23/06 1:06 PM
Clynne said...
that is awesome. Thanks
5/9/06 8:48 AM
Sandrag said...
What a great idea! I'm excited about trying it on some of my granddaughter's clothes.
9/21/06 1:37 AM
nicegirl said...
Brilliant!
3/1/07 12:23 PM
angelica said...
terrific thanks
8/12/07 12:50 PM
plainjoe81 said...
can some please provide a link to the photo?
1/18/10 1:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.