SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Pleating with a fork

Viewed 6007 times
Posted by: Saskia
photo

 
 
About Saskia star
GERMANY
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 2/11/06 2:51 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 24 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
Pleating with a fork is a fast and easy way, to make knife pleats of the same depths without marking the fabric.
1. Step: Slide the fork into the fabric (see picture above). The Number of prongs you have above and under the fabric defines the width of the pleat.
2. Step: Now turn the fork around. The fabric will form a pleat.
3. Step: Carefully pull out the fork and put a pin into the fabric to keep the pleat in place.

Now you can add the second pleat the same way. After turning the fork, you can push the fork in the right place so the pleats will adjoin perfectly. Or you can push in the fork, mark with a pin and then set the next pleat a fork-width apart.

Happy pleating!

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


17 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
plainjoe81 said...
can some please provide a link to the photo?
1/18/10 1:52 PM
angelica said...
terrific thanks
8/12/07 12:50 PM
nicegirl said...
Brilliant!
3/1/07 12:23 PM
Sandrag said...
What a great idea! I'm excited about trying it on some of my granddaughter's clothes.
9/21/06 1:37 AM
Clynne said...
that is awesome. Thanks
5/9/06 8:48 AM
KAB said...
Superb! Very impressive. Thank you for sharing this technique.
4/23/06 1:06 PM
Oie said...
What an inventive idea!? Makes me think, "Now why didn't I think of that?" Very cool and bound to save me TONS of time on my mini-skirts. Thanx soooo much!
2/16/06 0:07 AM
joyrainbow said...
Very cute.
2/12/06 10:58 AM
cherry said...
I admit I already knew this one - I use it in costuming when a quick ruffle is needed. You can do this as you sew, no need to pin! Either use a zigzg stitch just to anchor the pleats, or sew the pleated edge onto a plain piece of fabric.
2/12/06 8:14 AM
Cloud9 said...
Dear Saskia, You are brilliant. This tip/technique is a keeper! Thank you!
2/11/06 11:49 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a clever woman. I'm sure we all appreciate this one.
2/11/06 7:55 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Well, son of a gun. How clever can you get?
2/11/06 2:11 PM
Gramma Rosie said...
WOW! thanks for the great tip. My "saved tips" folder is getting full. Along with the senior moments I am having a lot of those "duh" ones. Now I just have to remember where the folder is.............. Thanks much.
2/11/06 9:59 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
I love this. I saw your illustration of this in your review and thought it was just brilliant. Thanks! -Ann
2/11/06 9:21 AM
Mandi Ballard said...
that's so great. No more obsessive ruler measurements for me!
2/11/06 8:48 AM
vasallese said...
Never thought of this. & maybe I'll do some pleats now. Thanks.
2/11/06 8:26 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Veile, Danke! Excellent tip ... I may use it and actually make some pleated curtains now!
2/11/06 7:43 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Fanny Pack or Purse

Fanny Pack or Purse

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.