SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > clips for paper patterns and instruction sheets

Viewed 5215 times
Posted by: Aless
photo

 
 
About Aless star
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/29/02
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 2 people
tips added: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 2/12/06 10:46 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
I use 2 similar types of plastic paper clips to keep pattern pieces/ instruction sheets together while I am sewing.
I)for all pattern pieces currently being used, I use large plastic 'bulldog' clips( in boxes from the $2 shop),and clip the pattern pieces together as I take them off the fabric pieces they are pinned to.When I've finished,they are all together ready to be returned to the envelope/bag in which they are stored.
II) for the pattern instruction sheets,I use 2 plastic 'bulldog' clips (the type that has a hole through one of the parts that squeezes together to open the clip).I hang the clips,attached at each end of the top of the pattern sheet,on my corkboard(above/to one side of my machine) by pushing long glass-topped pins through the holes in the clips into the board.This way I have the instructions right in front of my eyes and out of the way.The same arrangement could be more permanent by using small cuphooks instead of the pins.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Patzee said...
Huh. Never thought about putting those instructions on a board! But what's a *bulldog* clip?
2/12/06 11:01 PM
Aless said...
I'll try to explain(gulp!). It's the clip you often see in offices and has been around for years. Was first made of metal. It has a section that is made like 2 flat 'jaws'. These 'jaws' grip the paper. They are worked by squeezing 2 'handles' together with forefinger and thumb. There is a strong spring in the section between the 'jaws' and the 'handles'.If you can imagine tongs for paper you'll get near it.The 'jaws' are held shut by the pressure of the spring. I hope this makes sense.I didn't even think about the name when I wrote the tips.
2/13/06 1:50 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Great tips, Aless. Here's a link to show them: bulldog photos
2/13/06 7:50 AM
Patzee said...
Oh, I see what they are. SewVeryTall...duh, I should have done a Google search first before asking this question. My apologies to all -- and thanks for the excellent tip.
2/13/06 3:24 PM
JenniferBee said...
I also have a cork board on the wall in front of my sewing machine, but I just pin the instructions on with long pins. :-) This way they don't disappear under all the fabric on my big cutting out table.
2/13/06 5:38 PM
regine said...
I find the pattern instructions very unwieldy so I recently scanned only the part of the sheet I need on to A4 paper and stapled them together. This is much easier to handle. One does not need the additonal instructions in different languages.
4/27/06 3:02 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

10 inch Professional Shears

10 inch Professional Shears

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.