SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Silky Fleece [polyester fur], tips for working with

Viewed 6049 times
Posted by: SewVeryTall
photo

 
 
About SewVeryTall starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/2/04
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 63 people
tips added: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 2/13/06 8:06 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 9 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Silky fleece isn't thick fleece, it's a lightweight polyester fur. The only thing I've ever felt that's softer is a kitten's fur...I just love the way this furry fabric feels.

In working with this, I discovered a few things that others might find helpful:

Clear your cutting table completely before starting to cut, and plan on a big mess of shedding "fur". Lock the kitties [and kiddies, hehe] out of the room, make sure your bird is asleep so he won't be flying over the table. Close the windows, and turn off the fan.

After pieces are cut, and before starting to clean up the mess, give the pieces a gentle shake over the table, then set to one side. I cleaned up the mess in 3 steps...gather the masses of loose fur with your hands, and have a waste sack right there to put it in. Then I took a scrap of batting to wipe up more. The fur fibers want to grab onto the batting.

Before the final cleaning, take your cut pieces and put masking tape on the edges. Don't fold it over, just stick it onto the edges, hanging over a bit [see web link photo above]. This really helped to keep my sewing machine area clean. Re-shake pieces over the table to remove any loose fur. Wipe up with batting.

For the 3rd and final cleaning, use masking tape wrapped around your fingers, sticky side out. This will get the last of the glistening little fibers. This is also a great way to clean your clothing [yikes, I had a blue sweater on when I was working with this, and the sleeves were loaded with fibers].

If your project has a zipper, you'll need to shield the teeth from the fur. Photo #2 in the web link album shows the coordinating fabric sewn to the zipper before it's installed in the project. This idea was in a tip submitted by Els and it really works...no fur getting stuck in the zipper. Thanks again Els! I cut a 4" strip of poly fabric, pressed in half [now 2" wide] RS out, to sew on each side of the zipper. I also used a 1" SA on the zipper seam of my project, so that after the zipper was attached to the shield, I could zigzag the raw edge of the fabric to the shield [to prevent shedding when washed]. All cut edges were zigzagged [4mm wide, 3mm length] with no problems.

When pinning fabric together to sew a seam, use your finger to push the fur away from the SA edge. I sewed the seams with 8 stitches per inch [3mm], so if any fur gets caught in the seam, you can use a wide-toothed comb to fluff it out. Photo #3 shows the comb and the zipper shield installed in my project, a couch pillow cover [other photos in the album].



<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


15 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
mom2rays said...
Thank you for your tip, especially the zipper part. I had to make some pillows with a long pile fake fur and the invisible zipper that I was inserting into the seam was not coming out right no matter what I tried. The fur kept getting sucked into the teeth. I used twill tape in a coordinating color and just shielded the teeth like the link/tutorial said and voila! My pillows zippers and all came out perfect.
4/30/07 11:33 PM
JasonH said...
I like this fabric, but does anyone know how to wash it, and not have it loose it's silky texture? I've asked the fabric store personal and a dry cleaner, but nothing seems to work. It ends up feeling dull, matted, and not so soft.
2/12/07 10:55 PM
JasonH said...
I like this fabric, but does anyone know how to wash it, and not have it loose it's silky texture? I've asked the fabric store personal and a dry cleaner, but nothing seems to work. It ends up feeling dull, matted, and not so soft.
2/12/07 6:54 PM
manduca said...
Thanks so much for your detail and the pictures! I really appreciate the time you put in to it. You're a lifesaver.
1/13/07 11:48 PM
manduca said...
Thanks so much for your detail and the pictures! I really appreciate the time you put in to it. You're a lifesaver.
1/13/07 11:39 PM
AuntyqLace said...
I like this fabric and want to make something with it, thank you for the tips. I like your sense of humor too, about controllling the mess.
2/20/06 0:43 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Jayme...you're welcome :)

Mimic...I don't really know, but I would think anything you put in your PR 'favs' would stay there until you remove it. I was really talking about "favs" that your internet provider gives you on their toolbar.
2/17/06 6:15 AM

Mimicj said...
SewVeryTall, how long will something stay in my favorites on this site? I haven't used that feature yet. Thanks for the tip on "My Favorites" also.
2/16/06 3:56 PM
Jayme girl said...
Hugs Hugs Thank you I got it .Your really very kind God bless you and yours
2/16/06 2:20 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Jayme...I was just thinking...you must "bookmark" or have a "Favorites List" that you put your favorite sites in [like Pattern Review]...so you could go back to the tip with the bulldog clips link that I put in, click on it, and when you get to the site, put it in your Favs. Then you'll have google images to use anytime you want. Up at the top of that page is where I typed in "bulldog clip"...just click there, erase what I typed in, and type whatever you want to see.

Also...have you every used the Message Boards here at PR? You could ask for computer help there :)
2/16/06 6:00 AM

Jayme girl said...
Thanks I guess Ill have to get computor lessons.I do look forward to all your tips .Keep them coming hugs
2/15/06 7:40 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Jayme, I wish I could help you with the computer problems.
2/15/06 5:42 AM
Jayme girl said...
Thanks again. I tried google and didnt get through,I told you Im not computor savay , But I sure can sew ,bead, paint.Make all my cloths drapes curtains etcbut computor has got me beat . Hugs
2/14/06 7:04 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Thanks Jayme! If you ever want to know what something looks like, just go to www.google.com/images and type the name in the search box. It's great, I use it all the time.
2/14/06 6:48 AM
Jayme girl said...
You are amazing I do look forward to all your tips.I also like your display of bull dog clips.Im not computor savay,to be able to do what you do thanks
2/13/06 10:16 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

More Info
Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.