SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Expo Reviews > Education of the Textile Arts at Dallas

Texas, UNITED STATES
Viewed 5560 times
Posted by: Peggy L
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Peggy L starstarstar
TN USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 109
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 43 people
expos reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 2/15/06 3:44 PM
Rating: starstar
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 3 people   
Web site/URL: photo
February 11-12th, 2006 in Denton, Texas.

This is the first year for this expo. It was arranged by Peggy Sagers of Silhouette Patterns and was held at Texas Women's University in Denton. Preday classes on Friday, February 10th, included pants fitting with Peggy Sagers, fitting with Cynthia Guffy, or making a slinky jacket with Linda McPhee. I took the pants fitting class with Peggy Sagers. There was quite a group of us from Pattern Review. It was a lot of fun meeting everyone. Of course, I was teeny, tiny little Leslie's partner but she was quite gracious! Friday night a group of PR members met for dinner at the Siam House. Great fun!

I took a variety of classes because I had not taken classes from any of these instructors before. I took three Cynthia Guffey classes and was really impressed. Very informative and wonderful techniques. I hope to take more classes with her and would love to go to one of her seminars. I took "Up My Sleeve" with Shirley Adams. Her creativity has always impressed me. Her garments were just beautiful. I also took a class from Linda McPhee. She is quite a character and had some interesting techniques. Emma Seabrooke was there teaching techniques for knits. Some of the other teachers were Linda Lee (Sewing Workshop), Linda Kubik (Elements), and June Colburn (Asian styles). I am sure that there are others I missed.

Since this was the first year, there were a few glitches!!! We did n't get our tickets and class materials until the week before. Cutting it close if you need to make a muslin!! The classrooms were quite a distant from the main hall. It was really cold in Denton (for Texas!!) walking to those classes and I know it was hard on some of the older women. Also, you didn't have time to visit the vendors between classes. There were not near as many vendors as I thought there would be. It was fun meeting the Decades of Style ladies. Lack of vendors didn't slow me down, I came home with a Janome Coverpro!!!

There was also a fashion show on Saturday night. It was fun and I met a lot of people and visited with some that had been in my classes. Everyone was shocked that the PR representatives in the pants class had just met. As Leslie described it, we did PR for PR all weekend. Brighton sponsored the fashion show and we all got a beautifl mirror compact. That event was a little pricey at $59 though.

I hope this continues in Texas and gets bigger and better. It is scheduled for next February at the same location. We have very few fashion sewing events around here. I'm sure I have left some important stuff out, some of the other PR members took different classes so maybe they'll chime in.

One other thing, we need an official Pattern Review nametag. We missed meeting some PR people because we didn't have name tags.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

Add Sewing Expo Review    Read All Sewing Expo Reviews


15 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Leslie in Austin said...
Ditto to what PeggyL wrote. There were lots of first-time conference problems: received our info way too late and it was quite limited, ridiculous class ticket system, the expo hall and classrooms were in separate, distant buildings (and it was *COLD* out!), there wasn't coffee service anywhere near the classrooms, the instructors were forced to constantly be changing classrooms, and there weren't very many vendors. BUT....it was still a conference worth attending and one I expect to attend next year. Imagine this: a whole weekend focused on garment sewing, with the exception of one exceptional series of slipcover workshops. Of course the Cynthia Guffey classes were outstanding. If you get a chance to study with her, do it. She's great. She's a super teacher and crams a lot of information into a short amount of time in a clear, concise manner. I also attended the slipcover workshops with Karin Erickson, who is a great teacher as well. Her draping method takes all of my fear (ok...most of it) out of making slipcovers. No tedious measuring and pattern-matching becomes easy with her topstitching strategy. I am anxious to watch her video and get started on my first project. Bottomline: same time next year, SW PR girls, but next time we'll be a little better organized.
2/15/06 4:26 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Sounds like you gals had a great time, logistics issues notwithstanding. I'm curious as to how it compares with the 'Original Sewing and Quilt Expo' that travels around the country (with a stop in Atlanta). It sounds like many of the same instructors are there. But I'd like to come just to meet 'all y'all' ;)
2/15/06 6:22 PM
SewTwin said...
Arrrrrgh!!I had no friends or family there,have missed many PR events due to so far away!I was only able to attend Saturday for 5 classes!The most practical, real-life clothing was Linda MacPhee.Also, she had the most clothing for demos, and her own fashion show!..I thank Peggy Sagers for setting up the event, and teachers.Perhaps Deepika could post when an "event" is coming up on the PR Calendar, we could post who is attending, so we could meet at that location!Perhaps there will be more vendors, and better locale,although the stadium/classroom seating was great! Thanks for the review!!
2/16/06 3:59 AM
Industrial Seamstress said...
I too, agree here in Texas we are lacking for sewing shows. I thought ETA was wonderful. I only attended the pants fitting class on friday. Next year will be different. I want to take as many classes as I can. Did anyone get to attend the Creative Inspirations in San Antonio? I had planned on going but got sick that week. I was just wondering how it compared. Personally I think the class diversity was great at ETA. Karlynn,, by the way great meeting all of you and I finally found my way to PR
2/16/06 9:34 AM
jewelea said...
A good synopsis, Peggy! I've attended Martha's Sewing Market in Arlington for the past three years, so that is my basis for comparison. This was much smaller (or perhaps more intimate is the better description), but, of course, this was its debut. I will also say it was more expensive for relatively the same experience--classes plus market--that Martha's Sewing Market offers. $17 gets you into MSM and all the classes you care to take that day. I did like the emphasis on garment sewing and was most impressed with Cynthia Guffey, a discovery for me. The Shirley Adams and the Linda McPhee classes which I took were also both worthwhile. I liked the idea of having it on a college campus, although for someone coming from Dallas proper it's a long, hard drive to TWU. On a minor note, the box lunch was just fine, but there weren't enough tables to eat it, and eating it on your lap was awkward. I second Sew Twin's suggestion that PR have an official place to post who will be attending an event, so we could all meet up. I actually made a PR nametag for myself, but was a little too inhibited to wear it.
2/21/06 7:25 PM
blue mooney said...
I'm just now getting around to reading this expo review and writing a long-overdue review on the pants-fitting class that was part of the expo. Excellent job, Peggy; I think you and Leslie are right in your glitch-identification. This was still a worthwhile expo - there were many classes to choose from, I appreciated the focus on garment sewing, and will definately attend again. However, the very best part was meeting my PR friends.
5/29/06 8:38 AM
Nancenwalt said...
Does anyone know what happened to Creative Inspirations Expos?
6/27/06 6:02 PM
99 said...
Just now reading this review. It is pretty accurate. I, too, attended the ETA on TWU campus. I did not feel there was a problem with distance to classes. The weather was just typical Texas weather. I really feel it was a success for first time. There was plenty variety in scope of classes. The pant fitting class (i also attended) was great as Peggy always is. Maybe if there had been fewer participants, we could have accomplished more. I received my materials with plenty of time to prepare muslin. I expect the earlier one registers will determine when materials are received. Last minute is always a rush. Thanks for the review, it is always interesting to compare reactions of individuals.
10/13/06 10:44 PM
Tee Jay said...
The Next one is coming! www.etadallas.com for info, it will be held at SMU in Dallas this time Feb 9, 2007 for workshops and 10 &11 for classes. Registration is going on now. Sorry if I keep posting this, but I don't want people to miss the info--there can never be enough expo's and it needs our support to continue.
11/25/06 11:13 AM
bikrgran said...
One of the groups I belong to was asking about the Martha's Sewing Market thing, in Arlington. They are wondering if it's a free-for-all, or what. Since I had never heard of this to start with, I'm curious, myself, since I live just outside Arlington. Can someone describe this "Market", what it consists of, etc? I'm very interested, myself. Thanks!
12/2/06 6:05 PM
bikrgran said...
One of the groups I belong to was asking about the Martha's Sewing Market thing, in Arlington. They are wondering if it's a free-for-all, or what. Since I had never heard of this to start with, I'm curious, myself, since I live just outside Arlington. Can someone describe this "Market", what it consists of, etc? I'm very interested, myself. Thanks!
12/2/06 7:27 PM
bikrgran said...
One of the groups I belong to was asking about the Martha's Sewing Market thing, in Arlington. They are wondering if it's a free-for-all, or what. Since I had never heard of this to start with, I'm curious, myself, since I live just outside Arlington. Can someone describe this "Market", what it consists of, etc? I'm very interested, myself. Thanks!
12/2/06 8:05 PM
Peggy L said...
bikrgran-I do not see a review for the Martha Pullen Market in Dallas but I know PR members have attended. You might try asking on the boards. I'm not sure too many people will see your questions here.
12/3/06 11:08 AM
bikrgran said...
Thanks, Peggy. I've written Martha, directly, to get info, if I can. I tried refreshing the screen a couple of times to see if anyone had responded, and it repeated my question each time. Weird. Linda
12/3/06 9:03 PM
BeckyWilliams said...
I was at the ETA Expo in Denton, too, and I agree it was really excellent. The 2007 event is at the SMU campus in Dallas. The web site is http://www.etadallas.com/index.htm It challenged me to re-think techniques and try different ways of doing things that are better than how I'd done them for years. --Becky W
12/28/06 5:21 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern

SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.