SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Press sleeve hem before sewing seam

Viewed 5175 times
Posted by: Irene Q
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Irene Q starstarstarstar
NH USA
Member since: 3/19/04
Reviews written: 123
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 96 people
tips added: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 2/16/06 2:56 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 13 people   
Featured in the PR book!
Sounds obvious, but if you press up a sleeve hem while the sleeve is still flat - before sewing the sleeve seam or armhole seam - it's much easier. Unfold the hem to sew the seam, of course. Then when you're ready to do the hem, it'll be 90% pressed already.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Cloud9 said...
Hi Irene, Thanks for another helpful tip/technique. Ideas like this help me get thru my projects so much easier. Thanks again. Diane
2/16/06 3:30 PM
Lilibet said...
Yep. It's obvious but I didn't think of it!
2/17/06 6:10 AM
KKat said...
Hi Irene, Thanks you very much ! I do this too, also works for hems on wovens that aren't too prone to "grow" whilst hanging :)
2/25/06 7:56 AM
inkyannie said...
Good idea. Thanks.
2/26/06 6:45 PM
KAB said...
Simple but elegant thinking. Thank you.
4/23/06 12:56 PM
jbrewer said...
This is a great tip because it has stuck with me since the first time I read it. Now, a year later, it's a habit for me.
2/25/07 6:53 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.