Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Different Fabrics for Fitting Muslins (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5068 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 35 people   
Posted by: MaryLynn in Long Beach
photo
About MaryLynn in Long Beach star
CA USA
Member since: 7/2/04
Reviews written: 36
Favored by: 23 people
tips added: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 2/18/06 1:58 PM
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
I am really reluctant to share this picture, but the info is too important to keep.

I was using fabrics on hand for a fitting muslin of a new (for me) pant pattern and had my DH take pictures so I could study the problems. The photos are much more revealing of problems than the mirror.

Because I was using FoH, the front and back were of different fabrics. It was MUCH easier to discern which issues were 'front' and which were 'back'.
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ryan's mom said...
marylynn, I have a picture to share like that in one of my upcoming reviews. That is a very good idea using the two different fabrics and it really makes it easy to see if the seam line is straight or not.
2/18/06 8:12 PM
Tov said...
Brilliant! Thanks for sharing this, it will make a difference in my understanding of fitting problems.
2/18/06 9:43 PM
vasallese said...
Thanks for sharing. This is a good tip I am putting in my favorites.
2/19/06 0:55 AM
jr said...
Thanks, marylynn. Great idea!
2/19/06 1:01 AM
G_l_e_n_d_a said...
What does FoH stand for?
2/19/06 1:08 AM
AnneM said...
Too cute! Great idea on using the two very different fabrics. And how you can tell that you have to add some width to the back and remove it from the front. (At least, I think that is what you have to do.) I have to get back to my pants fitting project, and I will probably use this idea. I also can't think of what FoH would stand for.
2/19/06 8:16 AM
Tov said...
FoH- Fabric on Hand?
2/19/06 9:31 AM
MaryFran said...
Thank You, using the two different fabrics is a GREAT idea !!! I think that just may solve my fitting problem mystery.
2/19/06 10:11 AM
AndreaP said...
Great idea! I just bought Fitting for Real People and have started to make a basic pant muslin, and I plan on using your idea. Thanks!
2/19/06 12:37 PM
Debbie Lancaster said...
Thanks for stifling your reluctance and posting this--what a great illustration. A picture paints a thousand words, indeed!
2/19/06 4:12 PM
sewnow1004 said...
Thanks for not holding back this good info. It probably won't have been as distinctive with a smaller person. This could also apply for tops - fwd/backward shoulders or maybe anywhere where 2 seams join.
2/20/06 12:07 PM
Dellen said...
Thanks so much, marylynn. I am going to use this tip on a bodice muslin -- I'm having a heck of a time figuring out exactly where to place my shoulder seam. I think two different fabrics will show me in a flash. Thanks!
2/20/06 9:51 PM
Sew it seams said...
Wonderful idea, Marylynn!
2/21/06 11:32 AM
Learn To Sew said...
Thank you for showing us another easy way to see our fit problems. I would not have thought such a simple idea would be such a good one. This one is great!
2/21/06 12:23 PM
AliceB said...
This is a WONDERFUL instructional picture and worth many thousands of words. Thank you for sharing :)
2/24/06 6:09 PM
inkyannie said...
What a great idea. Jeez o Pete, Vasellese, I didn't know that feature existed! Thank you for mentioning it. I always print these tips and have a very unorganized pile of paper. I probably couldn't find anything in that stack if I tried. I will start using this and maybe go back to some of the ones I have printed and put them in my favorites. Ah well, one of these days I will get organized.
2/26/06 6:40 PM
bunz said...
Many, many thanks for sharing. Your instincts were right -- this is a fantastic idea!!
2/28/06 8:05 PM
luckypenny said...
Very helpful as I have been trying to figure out how to make pants fit me as well. Also, I read your pants story in your bio......very entertaining, but most of all helpful. New to the boards, but have learned so much already. Love you guys!
3/3/06 12:37 PM
oracle said...
Thanks for a wonderful tip. I'm going to use it, too. I read your pants fitting story. You're a good writer, too!
4/30/06 8:42 AM
Tall Mary said...
I am in awe over your tip. I will immediately begin to use this before I try any patterns before I begin to cut out my good fabric. Thanks.
5/27/06 2:21 PM
Danielle said...
Wow! I wish I had thought of that before! This makes it so crystal clear if seams are straight and /or in the right place!
5/28/06 6:59 PM
luckypenny said...
Very helpful as I have been trying to figure out how to make pants fit me as well. Also, I read your pants story in your bio......very entertaining, but most of all helpful. New to the boards, but have learned so much already. Love you guys!
5/15/07 10:31 AM
sherri2sew said...
Where'd you get that picture of me???? Well, it could have been. Absolute genius for you to see that something so simple ( 2 different fabrics) made it so much easier to see what alterations were needed. We are in your debt.
6/24/07 7:55 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us