SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Different Fabrics for Fitting Muslins

Viewed 5228 times
Posted by: MaryLynn in Long Beach
photo

 
 
About MaryLynn in Long Beach star
CA USA
Member since: 7/2/04
Reviews written: 36
Favored by: 23 people
tips added: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 2/18/06 1:58 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 35 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
I am really reluctant to share this picture, but the info is too important to keep.

I was using fabrics on hand for a fitting muslin of a new (for me) pant pattern and had my DH take pictures so I could study the problems. The photos are much more revealing of problems than the mirror.

Because I was using FoH, the front and back were of different fabrics. It was MUCH easier to discern which issues were 'front' and which were 'back'.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


23 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
sherri2sew said...
Where'd you get that picture of me???? Well, it could have been. Absolute genius for you to see that something so simple ( 2 different fabrics) made it so much easier to see what alterations were needed. We are in your debt.
6/24/07 7:55 PM
luckypenny said...
Very helpful as I have been trying to figure out how to make pants fit me as well. Also, I read your pants story in your bio......very entertaining, but most of all helpful. New to the boards, but have learned so much already. Love you guys!
5/15/07 10:31 AM
Danielle said...
Wow! I wish I had thought of that before! This makes it so crystal clear if seams are straight and /or in the right place!
5/28/06 6:59 PM
Tall Mary said...
I am in awe over your tip. I will immediately begin to use this before I try any patterns before I begin to cut out my good fabric. Thanks.
5/27/06 2:21 PM
oracle said...
Thanks for a wonderful tip. I'm going to use it, too. I read your pants fitting story. You're a good writer, too!
4/30/06 8:42 AM
luckypenny said...
Very helpful as I have been trying to figure out how to make pants fit me as well. Also, I read your pants story in your bio......very entertaining, but most of all helpful. New to the boards, but have learned so much already. Love you guys!
3/3/06 12:37 PM
bunz said...
Many, many thanks for sharing. Your instincts were right -- this is a fantastic idea!!
2/28/06 8:05 PM
inkyannie said...
What a great idea. Jeez o Pete, Vasellese, I didn't know that feature existed! Thank you for mentioning it. I always print these tips and have a very unorganized pile of paper. I probably couldn't find anything in that stack if I tried. I will start using this and maybe go back to some of the ones I have printed and put them in my favorites. Ah well, one of these days I will get organized.
2/26/06 6:40 PM
AliceB said...
This is a WONDERFUL instructional picture and worth many thousands of words. Thank you for sharing :)
2/24/06 6:09 PM
Learn To Sew said...
Thank you for showing us another easy way to see our fit problems. I would not have thought such a simple idea would be such a good one. This one is great!
2/21/06 12:23 PM
Sew it seams said...
Wonderful idea, Marylynn!
2/21/06 11:32 AM
Dellen said...
Thanks so much, marylynn. I am going to use this tip on a bodice muslin -- I'm having a heck of a time figuring out exactly where to place my shoulder seam. I think two different fabrics will show me in a flash. Thanks!
2/20/06 9:51 PM
sewnow1004 said...
Thanks for not holding back this good info. It probably won't have been as distinctive with a smaller person. This could also apply for tops - fwd/backward shoulders or maybe anywhere where 2 seams join.
2/20/06 12:07 PM
Debbie Lancaster said...
Thanks for stifling your reluctance and posting this--what a great illustration. A picture paints a thousand words, indeed!
2/19/06 4:12 PM
AndreaP said...
Great idea! I just bought Fitting for Real People and have started to make a basic pant muslin, and I plan on using your idea. Thanks!
2/19/06 12:37 PM
MaryFran said...
Thank You, using the two different fabrics is a GREAT idea !!! I think that just may solve my fitting problem mystery.
2/19/06 10:11 AM
Tov said...
FoH- Fabric on Hand?
2/19/06 9:31 AM
AnneM said...
Too cute! Great idea on using the two very different fabrics. And how you can tell that you have to add some width to the back and remove it from the front. (At least, I think that is what you have to do.) I have to get back to my pants fitting project, and I will probably use this idea. I also can't think of what FoH would stand for.
2/19/06 8:16 AM
G_l_e_n_d_a said...
What does FoH stand for?
2/19/06 1:08 AM
jr said...
Thanks, marylynn. Great idea!
2/19/06 1:01 AM
vasallese said...
Thanks for sharing. This is a good tip I am putting in my favorites.
2/19/06 0:55 AM
Tov said...
Brilliant! Thanks for sharing this, it will make a difference in my understanding of fitting problems.
2/18/06 9:43 PM
ryan's mom said...
marylynn, I have a picture to share like that in one of my upcoming reviews. That is a very good idea using the two different fabrics and it really makes it easy to see if the seam line is straight or not.
2/18/06 8:12 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

SewBaby Poncho Pizazz Pattern

SewBaby  Poncho Pizazz Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern

SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.