SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > cheap alternative to tracing paper

Viewed 6162 times
Posted by: khurtdvm
photo

 
 
About khurtdvm starstar
Member since: 8/6/04
Reviews written: 141
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
tips added: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/6/06 5:23 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 5 people   
I use plastic sheeting (sold in the stores to protect the floors/surroundings while painting) as a tracing medium. It can be easily marked with a Sharpie (I use one with an ultra fine tip) and stores easily. I keep small pieces in a gallon-sized ziplock bag and large pieces rolled up together. Be careful of the thickness, however - I prefer the 4 mil thickness. Anything less doesn't seem as durable.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
vasallese said...
I'm sorry, but I don't understand. Maybe cause I'm reading when I should be sleeping. I don't see how this can be used as tracing paper.
3/7/06 0:30 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
That's a great idea. I like the fact that since it is clear plastic, you can see through it and don't lose any information or markings (unless it's due to operator error!). Thanks! -Ann
3/7/06 8:37 AM
ANGEL STARR said...
I'm thinking and I'm assuming about this tip; perhaps Khurtdvm could add a little more detail. Thanks.
3/7/06 3:01 PM
suncentaur said...
I like this idea. sounds like you just have to be careful not to crease it when storing. I wonder if it can be un creased? Would have to test with a low temp and press cloth and protect ironing surface in case it melts. Sounds like an excellent choice for the smaller pieces for sure!
3/7/06 3:34 PM
sabra said...
thanks just starting back again and need every moneysaving tip i can get. please e-mail me at mcqueenlabmouse@aol.com
3/16/06 10:07 AM
costumecarol said...
The 4 mil can be purchased at a home improvement store on a roll...had to run upstairs to check. "Film-gard all purpose construction grade plastic sheeting." It comes in a box, 8 feet by 100. I have been known to pilfer a chunk when I've run out of pattern paper, to trace off a pattern. I've never worried about creasing one way or another, yet. It's very easy to see through: makes me wonder how great it would be to use when working with plaids.
3/20/06 8:00 AM
PattyPrice said...
Great idea. Now I have to find it. Perhaps Home Depot?
3/20/06 10:43 AM
natkayc said...
Great idea, i am going to be making bridesmaid dresses soon and will need several sizes out of one pattern. This will definately save me some money! This method won't tear easily either, at the moment i use baking paper!!
3/29/06 10:03 AM
pilarshirley said...
I am lost, I need more info please. Thanks
9/27/07 3:22 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Helix Tee and Pants

Sewing Workshop Helix Tee and Pants

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.