SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Pressing with pocket curve template

Viewed 5391 times
Posted by: Irene Q
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Irene Q starstarstarstar
NH USA
Member since: 3/19/04
Reviews written: 123
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 96 people
tips added: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/7/06 10:34 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 5 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
Pocket curve templates are good for pressing curves in pockets, but you can also use them for tracing curves, and for pressing other types of curves. In this pattern, I used it for the pocket flap and the cuffs, which had curved edges. But my favorite is for pressing that little curve in the collar stand! click here click here

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
kaitlin said...
I use it to mark the seam line in the collar stand. If the collar stand is not that shape it becomes it real quick. If something works don't fix it!!
3/7/06 7:20 PM
ClareinStitches said...
Excellent tip, Irene Q. I must go and fetch mine from where it is gathering dust!
3/8/06 4:30 PM
Peggym said...
I have been looking at this notion in the shops but didn't think I had enough use for it but now see that it would be really useful. Thanks for opening my mind
3/16/06 3:47 AM
startle said...
never heard of pocket curve templates before, where do I get one?
4/26/06 0:22 AM
Irene Q said...
startle, if you click on the Web site/URL link above, it will show you what one looks like. Most fabric stores carry them.
4/26/06 9:22 AM
els said...
Clotilde.com has the pocket template on sale now, for 0.99 cents
4/26/06 12:15 PM
Danielle said...
Neat!! Did not think of that! How clever!!
5/26/06 6:36 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Irene, after I made my first Louise Cutting Perfect Blouse and followed her recommendations for using this gadget, I was hooked. When I misplaced my first one, I had to run out and buy a replacement so I could keep on sewing. (Naturally I found #1 after I bought #2...)I put it in the same category as Steam-a-Seam and the magnetic pincushion - must-haves. Thanks for reviewing it.
5/26/06 10:12 PM
Cherr said...
What a great tip!
6/27/08 12:37 PM
stacieg said...
where do you find pocket templates?
3/31/09 9:12 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Baby Wardrobe Pattern

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Baby Wardrobe Pattern

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.