SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Bias binding for shaped hems

Viewed 5280 times
Posted by: Trinity.
photo

 
 
About Trinity. starstar
MA USA
Member since: 10/9/05
Reviews written: 107
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
tips added: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/7/06 6:40 PM
Last Updated: 12/17/07 4:22 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 13 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
Unfortunately, the pictures were lost with the move from Yahoo to Flikr. I will need to take another set of pics.


I like shirts with shaped hems, but it's always so difficult to get those hems to lie flat around the curves. I stumbled on this idea when making my last shirt.

First cut some self-fabric bias tape one inch wide. Then stitch to the right side of the hem using 1/2 inch seam allowance. Trim the SA to 1/4 inch and press the SA toward the binding. Then fold the tape over the SA and then fold again at the seamline to the wrong side. Press. Once it's pressed and held in place, you can stitch from either the right side or the wrong side for a 1/4 inch shaped hem. Be careful on the outside curves. They're harder than the inside curves and are more likely to stretch. After stitching, press again to eliminate any wrinkles, especially on the outside curves.


This is the same technique often used to finish neck edges with bias binding, and I got the idea because the armhole edges on the sleeveless blouse I was working on were finished in this way.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


12 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Nickle said...
Great tip and I liked your results on the top you made. Thanks for sharing.
3/8/06 6:30 AM
xela said...
Great idea!
3/8/06 9:54 AM
Irene Q said...
Great idea - I was struggling with a shirttail hem just the other day! Hope you don't mind me borrowing this for the New Techniques contest...
3/8/06 10:37 AM
Neefer said...
Great idea!
3/8/06 12:15 PM
Queendom said...
Great idea, I'll try it!
3/8/06 12:52 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Does the unfinished edge on the inside not fray or does the bias cut prevent that?
3/8/06 1:17 PM
Trinity. said...
Lorna, the inside edge is turned under so there is no exposed raw edge. I will try and add some pictures so that the instructions are clearer.
3/8/06 4:34 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Great photo demonstration! And the 5 layers of fabric would add weight to the hem, which in a lot of fabrics, would make the shirt hang nicer.
3/9/06 8:26 AM
mamacita said...
What a wonderful photo tutorial. thank you so much!
3/9/06 10:56 PM
Stargirl7 said...
This is what I *should* have done on the dress I just made. Well, I'll know better next time...
7/3/06 0:25 AM
burgy58 said...
Just what I was looking for, esp. the pictures. Couldn't find this technique in any of my sewing books. Thanks!
11/6/06 1:50 PM
mj312b said...
This was very helpful. Thanks so much.
9/18/08 9:22 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

10 inch Professional Shears

10 inch Professional Shears

Buy Now
Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.