Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Bias binding for shaped hems (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5149 times
Review rated Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 13 people   
Posted by: Trinity.
photo
About Trinity. starstar
MA USA
Member since: 10/9/05
Reviews written: 107
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
tips added: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/7/06 6:40 PM
Last Updated: 12/17/07 4:22 PM
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
Unfortunately, the pictures were lost with the move from Yahoo to Flikr. I will need to take another set of pics.


I like shirts with shaped hems, but it's always so difficult to get those hems to lie flat around the curves. I stumbled on this idea when making my last shirt.

First cut some self-fabric bias tape one inch wide. Then stitch to the right side of the hem using 1/2 inch seam allowance. Trim the SA to 1/4 inch and press the SA toward the binding. Then fold the tape over the SA and then fold again at the seamline to the wrong side. Press. Once it's pressed and held in place, you can stitch from either the right side or the wrong side for a 1/4 inch shaped hem. Be careful on the outside curves. They're harder than the inside curves and are more likely to stretch. After stitching, press again to eliminate any wrinkles, especially on the outside curves.


This is the same technique often used to finish neck edges with bias binding, and I got the idea because the armhole edges on the sleeveless blouse I was working on were finished in this way.
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nickle said...
Great tip and I liked your results on the top you made. Thanks for sharing.
3/8/06 6:30 AM
xela said...
Great idea!
3/8/06 9:54 AM
Irene Q said...
Great idea - I was struggling with a shirttail hem just the other day! Hope you don't mind me borrowing this for the New Techniques contest...
3/8/06 10:37 AM
Neefer said...
Great idea!
3/8/06 12:15 PM
Queendom said...
Great idea, I'll try it!
3/8/06 12:52 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Does the unfinished edge on the inside not fray or does the bias cut prevent that?
3/8/06 1:17 PM
Trinity. said...
Lorna, the inside edge is turned under so there is no exposed raw edge. I will try and add some pictures so that the instructions are clearer.
3/8/06 4:34 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Great photo demonstration! And the 5 layers of fabric would add weight to the hem, which in a lot of fabrics, would make the shirt hang nicer.
3/9/06 8:26 AM
mamacita said...
What a wonderful photo tutorial. thank you so much!
3/9/06 10:56 PM
Stargirl7 said...
This is what I *should* have done on the dress I just made. Well, I'll know better next time...
7/3/06 0:25 AM
burgy58 said...
Just what I was looking for, esp. the pictures. Couldn't find this technique in any of my sewing books. Thanks!
11/6/06 1:50 PM
mj312b said...
This was very helpful. Thanks so much.
9/18/08 9:22 AM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us