SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Photograph the fitting process to get a full view

Viewed 5168 times
Posted by: redsquid
photo

 
 
About redsquid starstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/23/06
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 23 people
tips added: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/12/06 11:16 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 13 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
photo of jacket alterations based on rear-view photo
As I've posted pattern reviews, I realized a photo of a garment on a body can show garment tugs and folds much more clearly than I can see it in the mirror, especially the rear view. My dress form can be useful, but it doesn't have a swayback!

And if I'm near a mirror, I've also found I stand up straighter than I do in "real life" when my posture shifts once I am no longer studying myself.

So I take digital photos of myself wearing garment, front and back, during first baste-together, and look at them in the camera. I've found digital photographs really helpful with tailored garments

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
GorgeousFabrics said...
That is such a great idea! -Ann
3/12/06 12:34 PM
Cloud9 said...
Hi Redsquid, Digital photography is in fitting is a great idea that never occured to me to use in sewing. However, last year I used digital photos to critique a swimsuit fit--back to the store it went!
3/12/06 6:06 PM
Darla in PA said...
I love using this technique to help with fitting. I can't always fit the problems that I see but I can attempt with the next item that I make.
3/12/06 6:47 PM
Danvillegirl said...
great idea. I need to figure out how to take that shot without a helper or tripod.
3/13/06 6:55 AM
Queendom said...
Great idea--Why didn't I think of that!
3/13/06 12:21 PM
jheralinn said...
What a great idea! Thanks to patternreview, I have improved immensely with the front fitting, but am now focusing improvements on the back fitting. The only thing is, my head is screwed on to look forward and not at my back. A digital camera! One that doesn't lie! I'm taking pictures tonight!
3/14/06 2:16 AM
GoSewGirl said...
I have a digital camera, and well, *duh*, NEVER thought to take a photo of myself to help with fitting. I am working on my slopers right now too, so it will be really helpful! Thanks for an excellent idea!
3/21/06 12:44 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Buy Now
PerfectFuse Sheer Black

PerfectFuse Sheer Black

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.