SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Photograph the fitting process to get a full view

Viewed 5222 times
Posted by: redsquid
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About redsquid starstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/23/06
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 23 people
tips added: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/12/06 11:16 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 13 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
photo of jacket alterations based on rear-view photo
As I've posted pattern reviews, I realized a photo of a garment on a body can show garment tugs and folds much more clearly than I can see it in the mirror, especially the rear view. My dress form can be useful, but it doesn't have a swayback!

And if I'm near a mirror, I've also found I stand up straighter than I do in "real life" when my posture shifts once I am no longer studying myself.

So I take digital photos of myself wearing garment, front and back, during first baste-together, and look at them in the camera. I've found digital photographs really helpful with tailored garments

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
GoSewGirl said...
I have a digital camera, and well, *duh*, NEVER thought to take a photo of myself to help with fitting. I am working on my slopers right now too, so it will be really helpful! Thanks for an excellent idea!
3/21/06 12:44 PM
jheralinn said...
What a great idea! Thanks to patternreview, I have improved immensely with the front fitting, but am now focusing improvements on the back fitting. The only thing is, my head is screwed on to look forward and not at my back. A digital camera! One that doesn't lie! I'm taking pictures tonight!
3/14/06 2:16 AM
Queendom said...
Great idea--Why didn't I think of that!
3/13/06 12:21 PM
Danvillegirl said...
great idea. I need to figure out how to take that shot without a helper or tripod.
3/13/06 6:55 AM
Darla in PA said...
I love using this technique to help with fitting. I can't always fit the problems that I see but I can attempt with the next item that I make.
3/12/06 6:47 PM
Cloud9 said...
Hi Redsquid, Digital photography is in fitting is a great idea that never occured to me to use in sewing. However, last year I used digital photos to critique a swimsuit fit--back to the store it went!
3/12/06 6:06 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
That is such a great idea! -Ann
3/12/06 12:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black

PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black

More Info
Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.