Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
chain stitch on Singer Touch and Sew (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5951 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 5 people   
Posted by: PattyPrice
photo
About PattyPrice
MS USA
Member since: 3/14/06
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Advanced
tips added: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/18/06 5:34 PM
I have a Singer Touch and Sew from 1964 and recently spent many hours locating the instructions for setting it up to do the chain stitch (single thread). Singer has never printed the instructions. I now have the process with digital photos of the parts and how to put them together. Many of these machines are still working well and this can save you having to get a serger to do this task. It works with one thread through the needle, a special baseplate, a "shadow" bobbin part and an auxiliary threading part. All parts came with the original machine - but the instruction book does not include their use. e-mail me at PattyJackson@shaw.ca for instructions.
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
esmer said...
Thank you so much for your review it was very helpful for me. A very wonderful freind of mine just gave me her Singer Touch and Sew with all the accessories including the ones need for a chain stitching. But if don't mind me asking with all the sewing that I have done over the years I have never as off yet had to use a chain stitch. Could you please give me a idea in what I could use this chain stitch on. Thanks again for being so kind.
3/19/06 0:21 AM
PattyPrice said...
Resonse to inquiries: The chain stitch is a one thread stitch (it is the stitch a serger does)with no blade. The stitch can stay or it can be removed by grabbing the upper side and - voila - gone. Great for basting, curved seams or stretchy fabrics. You can make those little button loops or free play chain loops. Definitely ahead of its time when invented.
3/19/06 10:37 AM
seweibhlin said...
Thank you for your review. I have an old 600 Singer Touch and Sew set up in my sewing room just to do chain stitching. I use it for basting and for decorative work also. Singer did put out a manual for Chainstitching- I have it. Got it on ebay. I see them often. Later Touch and Sews also had instructions in their manuals. If you buy an old Singer Touch and Sew -make sure it has the chainstitch bobbin cover, the chainstitch feed dog plate and the chainstitch auxillary threader- (should be in the attachment box). Also Singer Touch and Sew Model 600/603 have all metal gears- -and will out live later models with plastic gears. Enjoy!
3/19/06 12:47 PM
Linda Mae said...
I still have my T&S 626 (pink face plate) I bought in 1965. The manual shows how to thread for the chain stitch but I have never used it! There is quite a section in the manual on this chain stitch, even showing what to use it for. Looks like its a good basting procedure.
3/19/06 9:41 PM
LaurieEm said...
Oh goodness, this is tempting! And to think I just bought the plastic Singer toy machine at my local Hancock's, just so I would have a machine capable of a loose chainstitch. Congratulations!
3/19/06 11:49 PM
kmwolak said...
The instructions for the chain stitch were published in a separate booklet. I have one that came with my Touch & Sew 628, purchased sometime in the '60's.
9/5/06 8:20 AM
vfp said...
Could you list the part numbers for the parts needed to do chainstitching on a Touch and Sew? I will be getting a 600 soon and would like to use it for that.
1/2/07 6:34 AM
lisarep said...
Hi Patty, this is great informatio. Can you use the chainstitch capability of this machine in free-motion? ie move the fabric in any direction for decorative sticthing.
5/3/07 9:38 PM
lisarep said...
Hi Patty, this is great informatio. Can you use the chainstitch capability of this machine in free-motion? ie move the fabric in any direction for decorative sticthing.
5/3/07 10:35 PM
lisarep said...
Hi Patty, this is great informatio. Can you use the chainstitch capability of this machine in free-motion? ie move the fabric in any direction for decorative sticthing.
5/4/07 0:07 AM
LaurieB said...
I am waiting to jump on the opportunity to purchase a Singer Touch & Sew (626). If/when I am able to purchase it I can't wait to get it. It's a sewing machine I rented for about one month before purchasing my own Singer straight stitch sewing machine. Unfortunately at 16 years old at the time I couldn't afford the price of the Touch and Sew and had to get a straight stitch instead. Since then, whenever I think of a sewing machine I'd would have liked to have my mind has always gone back to this Singer Touch & Sew sewing machine. What I loved about it is the fact that you can fill the bobbin right in the bobbin case. I haven't found that feature on a sewing machine in all the years I've hoped for it. My granddaughter is going to be 16 real quick here and imagine how excited I feel to have the opportunity to purchase her my dream sewing machine today. It is my experience with sewing machines that they last for years and years (at least the older ones). I don't feel the fact that this sewing machine is so old now that it would be a bad investment or bad purchase to make. Heck, I still have the Singer straight stitch that I purchased right after I rented the Touch & Sew and it still sews just fine. I had purchased a newer Singer sewing machine that I ended up giving to my daughter when I got my Elna that I have now. I always HATED EVERYTHING that darned machine. I could just give my granddaughter that Singer because my daughter has never been inclined to sew, but I wouldn't want that machine to be my granddaughter's first sewing experience. I should have gotten my daughter a better one, but never did. I just never got the impression she wanted to sew that bad. Myself, I have a beautiful Elna sewing machine that sews like a dream - but I can't get over the fact that even with having my Elna now, I STILL have never gotten over thinking about that Singer Touch & Sew, lol! Maybe I'll have to purchase one for myself the next time I find one for sale. Laurie
8/15/07 3:57 PM
AshleyF said...
I just bought a 1964 Touch and Sew today and it came with an original booklet that came with the machine when new, separate from the manual, called Chainstitching with your Touch and Sew Sewing Machine.
5/6/10 9:47 PM
grammabd said...
Just what I've been looking for! Thanks
11/4/10 5:27 PM
Chrisbryanmom said...
Thank you so much for passing on the chainstitching manual.
2/26/11 12:25 PM
debwiley said...
Patty, Is your instruction still available? I recently bought a T & S with most if not all of the accessories. I am not sure what it looks like. Can you send me a copy of your digital instructions? I would like to try it out.
5/29/11 5:26 PM
tanyaheidi said...
Can you use the chainstitching attachments for the singer T&S model 635?
4/6/13 9:35 PM
tabathavm said...
I have read the booklet for this and I'm confused on the section that says Sewing a chainstitch seam. It says to put needle to position C (which doesn't wirk becuase it moves the needle to the right) and length to 10 or 12 only. And then width to 1. With the special plate it has...it doesn't allow this..am I doing something wrong?
10/5/13 7:35 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us