SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Sharpening Pinking Shears

Viewed 12571 times
Posted by: Cambric Tea
photo

 
 
About Cambric Tea starstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 4/19/03
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 75 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/23/06 12:55 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 29 people   
I purchased a pair of Fiskar Left-handed pinking shears six years ago when I took up sewing.

I have used them well and hard. When I wanted to cut something harder than fabric, like the excess of a zipper, I always reached for them before my worst scissors.

I realized last week that they finally were completely dulled, and wouldn't even cleanly cut interfacing anymore..

What to do? The last time I had my lefty haircutting scissors and Gingers sharpened they came back with waving, ruined blades and I had to have them replaced.

I didn't want to risk having to pay for sharpening as well as replacement, so I was considering just buying another pair of the same pinkers.

Luckily, I ran across this tip on the seeitsewit.com forums and it works:

*To sharpen pinking shears, cut through doubled aluminum foil.

I cut through trebled aluminum foil, five times (I saw nothing to lose, and honey they were D-U-L-L!) and I have my sharpy blades back!

Now mind you, my Fiskars weren't passed down the family line and they were cheap to start.
The look on the Britex lady's face told me they were only a step up from safety scissors, but they worked then and they work again. Yay!


<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


27 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Mirza said...
Thanks for this tip!
3/23/06 5:35 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Hey, I have two pair of Fiskar's pinkers - I like 'em! Frankly, I don't use pinking shears often enough to warrant buying a more expensive brand. Luckily, I have a great local sharpener so even the 30 year old pair still works great.
3/23/06 7:14 PM
whit said...
I was just talking with one of the guys at the office about this today. Why is it you can take a pair of scissors that cut material and mess 'em up cutting paper. OK, OK, I don't do it often. Well . . . not THAT often. 'sides, they're my scissors. I'd never do it with my wife's scissors or there'd be howlin' from the doghouse. Anyway . . . you can fix 'em with aluminum foil. Go figure!
3/23/06 11:07 PM
Cambric Tea said...
Don't do this with your dressmaker shears, whit! Just your pinking shears. Something about the pinked blade going through the foil really does work, you can kind of hear and feel the friction working.
3/24/06 0:02 AM
Mufffet said...
This is really great. My very old Wiss pinking shears were ruined when I had them sharpened. I will try this. I won't send pinking shears out to be sharpened again. Thanks a lot for passing this on!
3/24/06 0:03 AM
amadoofus said...
Thank you, because my pinking sheers NEED it!
3/24/06 0:24 AM
SewTwin said...
I really needed this tip.I have a pair of Ginghers my DH bought me when I started sewing many ? years ago.They are not bad, just dull.This is my tip to try tonight!
3/24/06 0:44 AM
MaryBeth said...
Slick as a button on a shirt!
3/24/06 0:49 AM
vasallese said...
Thanks. I have been afraid to send the pinking shears out for sharpening, cause i wasn't sure they could be sharpened. Since I'm reading this so late, I will try this in AM. They are Fiskars, & probably 25 years old.. I'll test it on them before I do the old Wiss I inherited from my aunt.
3/24/06 1:54 AM
FloraNature said...
Many thanks for sharing this tip. I have heard of it before, but couldn't see how it would work. Now, where did I leave my pinking shears!
3/24/06 6:54 AM
Donna H said...
Great tip, thank you!
3/24/06 11:05 AM
Susiec said...
My mom just told me this morning that her pinking shears need sharpened. I just joined a few minutes ago and already learned something valuable. Thanks
3/24/06 12:52 PM
twistedangel said...
Good tip. I have "passed down the family line" Wiss pinking shears. Don't use 'em much 'cuz I'm afraid of "dullifying" them. It's good to know that they can be sharpened.
3/24/06 5:02 PM
kathi s said...
I have a pair passed on from DMinL- I was ready to throw them out because they won't even cut cardboard. I'll experient on those and then try it on my own if it works.
3/24/06 11:33 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Well, I waited to comment until after I actually tried this out...didn't work. I cut double foil, tried fabric...then triple foil, tried fabric...then 6 layers of foil even...lots and lots of cuts. I must say, they cut the foil beautifully, lol. I should add, this was my old pair, not my good Wiss from dear grandmother that are over 50 years old and still extremely sharp.
3/25/06 4:51 AM
casken said...
Thank you!
3/28/06 1:57 AM
AuntyqLace said...
I wish this tip had worked for my pinkers, like it must have for so many others :(
3/29/06 6:16 PM
Cambric Tea said...
AuntyQLace, Sorry it didn't work, but I hope it didn't hurt! Yes this method did work for me, and if you google, "Sharpen Pinking Shears Aluminum Foil" there are a lot of people for whom it did work. BUT I'm glad that you commented that it didn't work for you. (And SewVeryTall as well!) It is most helpful to get all sides. :D
3/30/06 11:46 AM
tisha said...
THANK YOU! I HAVE HAD PROBLEMS WITH MINE ALSO, NOW I KNOW MORE.
4/12/06 8:44 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
I tried it on aancient and dreadfully dull pair of pinking shears that I inherited from MIL. It worked pretty well! They are not going to replace my newer shears yet, but at least they no longer tear the fabric. Thanks for the tip! -Ann
4/12/06 3:02 PM
Karla Kizer said...
I'm with Gigi: I don't use the old Fiskars (racy sounding name, don't you think?) often enough to warrant buying a new pair, but I'm not above giving this old pair a little life support. Thank you!
4/12/06 8:16 PM
Clynne said...
Thanks for this tip. I walked in yesterday as my husband was cutting a credit card with my pinkers!
5/9/06 8:37 AM
Patglenn said...
I'm another one for whom the aluminum foil didn't work. As SewVeryTall said, they cut the foil beatuifully, but didn't do anything for the fabric.
9/28/06 8:51 PM
ryansmumAria said...
I was so excited about this tip but unfortunately it didn't work one little bit.
8/13/07 11:25 AM
mushroomvillagers said...
Just tried this as well and it actually made my shears duller. Anyone else have ideas? I really don't want to have to buy another pair.
8/19/07 0:39 AM
AbigailA said...
I tried it on shears I bought on eBay. I was so mad they were dull, and I was ready to send them back, but it worked like a charm!
9/18/10 1:19 AM
bfisher5560 said...
Tried this on 2 pair and did not work. I am trying to pink edges of a dress lining. So that was the test. They already work ok on heavier fabric.
2/28/12 10:58 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Buy Now
Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.