SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Rubbing Alcohol Cleans Serger Blades

Viewed 5120 times
Posted by: Patti B
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Patti B starstarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 9/29/02
Reviews written: 164
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 71 people
tips added: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/26/06 11:49 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 14 people   
Featured in the PR book!
After a lot of serging on polarfleece, my serger blades were coated with a light film of who-knows-what and weren't cutting as well as before the marathon polarfleece sewathon. One of the members of a sewing list suggested that I try cleaning them with a cotton swab and alcohol. Magic! Not only was the film gone, the blades were cutting nicely again.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
PhyllisC said...
Patti, I was just about to suggest that you post this tip! I'm glad you did.
3/26/06 1:29 PM
NoraNora said...
Great Tip! Thanks for posting it! I wonder if I've thrown away blades that could have just been cleaned? I'm going to try this today!
3/27/06 11:45 AM
Deb Bee said...
Great to know! I also use rubbing alcohol to clean my needles when I am sewing glitter dot fabric on my regular sewing machine. (I would NEVER run that stuff through a serger!). I love cheap, simple fixes!
3/31/06 7:34 PM
bluebirdie said...
I just bought an used serger and used this tip on the gummed-up-blades. It worked wonders!
4/3/06 2:21 AM
Patti B said...
bluebirdie -- so glad that it worked for you!
4/4/06 9:26 AM
Linda E. said...
Alcohol is great for cleaning the different parts on the sewing machine and serger it does not cause rust like water can.
4/5/06 9:06 AM
Danielle said...
Very useful tip! Thanks!
5/28/06 6:16 PM
Christas said...
Excellent tip!
4/21/09 9:39 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Gracie Handbag

Gracie Handbag

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.