SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Rubbing Alcohol Cleans Serger Blades

Viewed 5139 times
Posted by: Patti B
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Patti B starstarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 9/29/02
Reviews written: 164
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 71 people
tips added: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/26/06 11:49 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 14 people   
Featured in the PR book!
After a lot of serging on polarfleece, my serger blades were coated with a light film of who-knows-what and weren't cutting as well as before the marathon polarfleece sewathon. One of the members of a sewing list suggested that I try cleaning them with a cotton swab and alcohol. Magic! Not only was the film gone, the blades were cutting nicely again.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
PhyllisC said...
Patti, I was just about to suggest that you post this tip! I'm glad you did.
3/26/06 1:29 PM
NoraNora said...
Great Tip! Thanks for posting it! I wonder if I've thrown away blades that could have just been cleaned? I'm going to try this today!
3/27/06 11:45 AM
Deb Bee said...
Great to know! I also use rubbing alcohol to clean my needles when I am sewing glitter dot fabric on my regular sewing machine. (I would NEVER run that stuff through a serger!). I love cheap, simple fixes!
3/31/06 7:34 PM
bluebirdie said...
I just bought an used serger and used this tip on the gummed-up-blades. It worked wonders!
4/3/06 2:21 AM
Patti B said...
bluebirdie -- so glad that it worked for you!
4/4/06 9:26 AM
Linda E. said...
Alcohol is great for cleaning the different parts on the sewing machine and serger it does not cause rust like water can.
4/5/06 9:06 AM
Danielle said...
Very useful tip! Thanks!
5/28/06 6:16 PM
Christas said...
Excellent tip!
4/21/09 9:39 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.