SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Rubbing Alcohol Cleans Serger Blades

Viewed 5228 times
Posted by: Patti B
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Patti B starstarstarstar
Member since: 9/29/02
Reviews written: 170
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 71 people
tips added: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/26/06 11:49 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 14 people   
Featured in the PR book!
After a lot of serging on polarfleece, my serger blades were coated with a light film of who-knows-what and weren't cutting as well as before the marathon polarfleece sewathon. One of the members of a sewing list suggested that I try cleaning them with a cotton swab and alcohol. Magic! Not only was the film gone, the blades were cutting nicely again.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
Excellent tip!
4/21/09 9:39 AM
Danielle said...
Very useful tip! Thanks!
5/28/06 6:16 PM
Linda E. said...
Alcohol is great for cleaning the different parts on the sewing machine and serger it does not cause rust like water can.
4/5/06 9:06 AM
Patti B said...
bluebirdie -- so glad that it worked for you!
4/4/06 9:26 AM
bluebirdie said...
I just bought an used serger and used this tip on the gummed-up-blades. It worked wonders!
4/3/06 2:21 AM
Deb Bee said...
Great to know! I also use rubbing alcohol to clean my needles when I am sewing glitter dot fabric on my regular sewing machine. (I would NEVER run that stuff through a serger!). I love cheap, simple fixes!
3/31/06 7:34 PM
NoraNora said...
Great Tip! Thanks for posting it! I wonder if I've thrown away blades that could have just been cleaned? I'm going to try this today!
3/27/06 11:45 AM
PhyllisC said...
Patti, I was just about to suggest that you post this tip! I'm glad you did.
3/26/06 1:29 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.