SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > project storage

Viewed 5372 times
Posted by: terrilee
photo

 
 
About terrilee
CO USA
Member since: 3/31/06
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/1/06 9:01 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I've started saving those plastic bags that sheet sets or other household linens come in. These bags are clear plastic and they have a zipper or a button closure. These storage bags are perfect for when you buy a pattern and fabric but don't have time to cut it out and start sewing that day. I put both the pattern and the fabric in the zipped bag together and if I buy buttons, thread, or trim for that project, it goes in the bag too. Then when I am ready to start sewing, everything is together in one neat package.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
newbie2008 said...
I wonder if anybody sells bags similar to this, for those of us who don't have bags lying around. Any ideas? Zip loc baggies are too small for material, pattern, instructions, etc.
10/3/08 2:43 AM
MoreFabric! said...
Great idea! I save those bags and have used them for other things, but this is the best idea! Thanks
1/27/08 12:11 PM
Big Sis said...
Good idea! I was wondering what I was saving alll those bags for!
10/16/06 3:57 PM
stitchinjj said...
Great minds think alike! I have been doing this for years and it works great. Some of the bags even have a pocket where they had the photo of the draperies etc. I use that to insert the pattern front so I can tell at a glance what project is enclosed.
4/23/06 11:04 AM
vasallese said...
Thanks, I'm hoping this will help me organize better. I tend to put things in piles, too. The worst part is when I mistakenly use the fabric for another project.
4/2/06 6:11 PM
Stitchology said...
I've always used these bags for knitting and embroidery projects and really should follow your advice and keep my sewing projects from spreading out and losing little pieces.
4/2/06 2:12 PM
Patzee said...
Good tip...a better use than what I've been doing -- cutting out the zippers and then discarding the plastic.
4/2/06 3:51 AM
Loudone247 said...
Great tip!! I have several of those bags, and now I know what I will be using them for. Thanks!!
4/2/06 0:51 AM
KarenP said...
Great idea! I always feel like those bags could be useful, but I have never come up with a good way to use them. I will give this a try.
4/1/06 4:43 PM
martinanne said...
That is a wonderful idea! That would be very helpful for me...I tend to leave these to-do projects in piles on my cutting table. They invariably get covered over, mixed up, or forgotten about. I think your tip would help me immensely. Thanks!
4/1/06 4:27 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
That's a really good idea! I am using my bags like that to store fabric scraps from other projects.
4/1/06 4:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Gracie Handbag

Gracie Handbag

More Info
Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt

Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.