SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Baby Steps 1 - My favourite elastic waistline for knit skirts

Viewed 5324 times
Posted by: Helen near Sydney
photo

 
 
About Helen near Sydney starstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/21/05
Reviews written: 117
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 62 people
tips added: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/1/06 11:30 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 8 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
Use wide (~1/2") lingerie elastic which has pretty scalloped edges and a brushed side that will be soft next to your skin.
1. Overlap ends and sew into circle 10cm < waist measurement
2. Quarter the elastic. Quarter the waistline. RS together, match quarter points and pin.
3. On elastic side, sew towards top of elastic, through all layers, stretching elastic between points.
4. Turn elastic to inside and iron into place.
5. On RS, topstitch into place with 1, 2 or 3 rows.
Wherever I can I use this finish on lightweight knit skirts.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
NoraNora said...
I bought a georgette RTW skirt with this exact waist treatment...it's very comfortable and attractive!
4/2/06 12:32 PM
Sadlesor said...
Like the idea of less bulk around the waist....thanks!
4/3/06 11:09 AM
vasallese said...
I do not sew much other than cotton because I have neot liked how they were finished (too bulky or homemade looking). I really am getting the urge to try other fabrics because of this site. Thanks for the tip.
4/3/06 7:51 PM
ashleyanne said...
what do you mean by sewing to the top of the elastic? ashley
4/4/06 12:11 PM
Linda E. said...
this is a cool way of doing elastic waist.. maybe I will try it on my next elastic waist pants of skirt.
4/5/06 9:02 AM
SewTwin said...
Helen, I meant to inquire when I saw this review what you did to make the change from a fitted waistband to the elastic waistband.Your #1 Item says 10cm4/7/06 1:46 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
It depends on the fabric. I'll give you an example: the last skirt I made (Vogue 2796, reviewed in PR) was in a wool knit. The pattern had a waistband w. zip. To convert it to an elastic waist I widened the waistline front & back by 1/2" and raised it by about 1". I checked that at full stretch the fabric could get over my hips. If I had used a woven fabric things would be different. I would have to widen the waistline by several inches to get the skirt over my hips which would then all have to be taken back in, with elastic, to fit snugly at the waist. This results in a puffy bit around your middle rather than the flat panel you get with a knit fabric. As well as knits this waistline works well for fine wovens (eg. polyester) and lightweight wovens cut on the bias. The length of elastic for this waistline treatment is 10cm (4") less than your waist measurement. This gives a snug but comfortable waistline. HTH.
4/7/06 6:49 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.