SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Ironing board as a photography aid

Viewed 5300 times
Posted by: Seamingly Simple
photo

 
 
About Seamingly Simple starstarstarstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 12/23/03
Reviews written: 134
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 61 people
tips added: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/6/06 6:44 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 13 people   
Photographs are always so well appreciated by Pattern Review readers. Sometimes, however, it is hard to find a patient photographer.

If you have a digital camera with a self-timer, you can set it up on a tripod and take as many photos of yourself as you like. If you prefer to spend your money on sewing supplies rather than photography equipment, you can use your ironing board and one or two cardboard boxes to get the camera at the right height.

The right height for photographing tops seems to be around eye level. If you put the camera directly on the ironing board, the camera seems to amplify the torso. For photographing trousers or skirts, boxes may be unnecessary. For vertical photographs you can support the camera on both sides with soup cans.

The advantage of using an ironing board and boxes instead of, say an armoire, is lightweight portability.

I found that a 10-second timer is enough time for me to make sure the camera is straight and stable, to get into position, and to smile at the absurdity of my assistant photographer. It never complains and is always available.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


12 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
JudyP said...
I can't believe I haven't seen this tip before! Absolute genius!!!
8/11/11 9:54 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Love this tip! Loved your album--thank you for sharing!! Photos let you look at your garment with fresh eyes. Carla
2/6/07 11:58 PM
OP Gal said...
Very helpful. And amusing.
6/20/06 7:10 PM
regine said...
Excellent idea, I tried it and it works very well, thanks.
4/25/06 1:40 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
That is such a good idea!
4/9/06 4:50 PM
Franrit said...
Very helpful idea, it should bring lots more pictures to the reviews. I am going to give it a try today.
4/7/06 12:03 PM
mrspenguin said...
great idea. Was just wondering how I could rope a family member into taking my photos. Now I don't need to.
4/7/06 11:41 AM
Neefer said...
Can you come over and find my manual?
4/7/06 10:59 AM
jbrewer said...
Very helpful tip! I agree, a review with a picture is worth so much more than one without. I tried the timer last time without the boxes and found it wasn't the most flattering angle for me. I'll use your idea next time. thanks.
4/7/06 8:57 AM
carolynw said...
great idea - so far DD is taking the pics but sometimes I think I am too demanding so if I can do this on my own would be better for him - the next problem - how to get the camera away from him - loves his new upgraded toy which I gave him for Christmas
4/7/06 8:40 AM
martinanne said...
This is helpful advice! Thanks. Sometimes it is impossible to find a human assistant...thank goodness for self-timers.
4/7/06 4:41 AM
SewTwin said...
You hit the right picture, pun! I always look at reviews that have a pic.Guess a pic is worth a thousand words! I will try this, my helpers are always so impatient.
4/7/06 2:17 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

More Info
SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.