SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Stabilize using fusible tapes

Viewed 5718 times
Posted by: Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepika starstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 355
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 293 people
tips added: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/10/02 11:14 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 17 people   
Featured in the PR book!
Ever since I've discovered the Fusible tapes I stabilize all the weak seams.

  • Crotch seam of pants: fuse bias fusible tapes to the crotch curve on the stitching line before sewing.

  • Waistline: Straight tape on the stitching line. The waist will NOT stretch out of shape.

  • prevent neckline and armhole gaping by fusing bias tape there as well

  • Get Perfect non ripply zippers. Fuse straight tape on the stitching line. This stabilizes the fabric where the zipper goes. This is especially effective when sewing zippers in the side seam or pants.

  • << Previous    Next >>

    Merchants on PR

    Reconstructing History


    Reconstructing History
    Web site

    Elliott Berman Textiles


    Fabrics for Greater Ideas
    Deals!

    Gwyn Hug


    Fabric Shopping Help!
    Deals!

    Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


    12 Comments
    Login to Add a Comment
    Everyday Sewist said...
    Deepika, do you use fusible tapes on knits too (specifically on necklines?)
    11/12/02 10:39 AM
    Deepika said...
    Yes Betty, I use these tapes on knits too. In fact I used it instead of facing on my recent Kwik Sew Twin Set. worked beautifully!
    11/12/02 1:16 PM
    SansSouci572 said...
    The mini iron is useful to place the various tapes, I don't feel like I will get burned using it. Or go off the edge and burn a hole in the slinky.
    11/12/02 7:27 PM
    pamela thickens said...
    Deepika, what brand of fusible tape do you buy? I don't think I know of this. Do you fuse on seamline b-4 you sew? Do you fuse on just one piece or both pieces,for ex. when you're doing crotch seams on pants? Thanks. Love this site!
    1/28/03 11:39 PM
    Deepika said...
    Pamela, sorry I just saw your comment. I used Fusible tapes from Japan which Judy barlup and many other carry. I think you can buy it from her site. On the crotch seam I fuse it only one one side before sewing.
    2/2/03 5:15 PM
    Robinb said...
    This information is just what I was looking for, I am going to try using the fusable tape on satin before applying my zipper and see how well it works. Thanks.
    5/22/04 1:22 PM
    clematis said...
    I love the idea for the perfect zipper installation. Now to find some fusible tape??????-in Ontario Canada!!
    7/16/04 4:36 AM
    Mrs. Cecil said...
    Remember to lubricate your needle if you are going to be stitching over areas where you have used hem tape. I forgot about this the other day and only managed about an inch of top stitching before the top thread shredded...
    8/18/04 6:49 AM
    terri said...
    if you put it on the waist of a knit fabric, do you take away the "give"? i can't stand binding things on the waist : )
    8/28/04 6:01 PM
    Deepika said...
    Terri, if the pant I am making is not elastic waist and I dont want "give" in waistline then I put it in that seam. Otherwise I usually do this in wovens. Crotch seam howeverI will always stabilize, knit or wovens.
    8/29/04 10:29 AM
    Nujoi1908 said...
    Hi Deepika. When using fusible tapes on the neckline and armholes, do you fuse it to the front and back pieces or just the front pieces? I can't seem to find the answer anywhere ...
    1/29/11 11:22 PM
    niptuck said...
    deepika, I do event sewing and have a 65 ft tableskirt to make for a wedding party. Do you have any suggestions of how to simplify the top seam. The fabric is a very shear toole. I have to make it solid enough to pin through to attach it to the top linen. any ideas would be greatly appreciated.
    4/17/11 7:48 PM
     
    adv. search»
    pattern | machine | member
            
    Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
    Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

    Register

    Fun with Fitting - PANTS
    Fun with Fitting - PANTS

    Register

    Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

    Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

    Buy Now
    Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

    Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

    Buy Now

    Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

    Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.