SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Test fabric for wool content with bleach soak

Viewed 6876 times
Posted by: redsquid
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About redsquid starstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/23/06
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 23 people
tips added: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/27/06 7:33 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 27 people   
Featured in the PR book!
There are various ways to test for wool content. If you burn it, you can smell burning hair and it looks like burning hair, for example, but I like to know how much wool there is.

If you buy mystery flatfold fabric like I do, and you want to confirm amount of wool content, cut off a swatch and cover it in bleach in a small container. Thinner fabrics take a couple of hours, allow more time for a coating.

You'll see wool "dissovling" in a chemical reaction. The fiber remaining in the bleach is not wool.

You may want to avoid selvedge as it can be woven with non-wool stabilzer fibers and so it won't give you accurate feedback on content.

This has saved me from dissappointment a few times when I wanted a tailored garment and wanted to work with wool, and I found while my fabric looked wooly and felt wooly to the touch, it had minimal wool content and wasn't suitable for my pattern.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


12 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
adventice said...
redsquid, thank you very much for a great tip how to test whether the wool is wool! Now I know that I have bought winter shoes for my little daughter with the REAL wool lining. I am content.
11/15/09 10:57 AM
Athene said...
This is very helpful to me. Thank you for the tip.
12/26/07 3:12 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Very helpful tip - thanks for posting this!
12/20/07 1:00 PM
RIKA325 said...
informative. what I was looking for.
10/4/06 10:35 PM
Danielle said...
Never heard of this! Will definitely use the tip!! Thanks!!
5/28/06 5:50 PM
priscilla said...
What a great tip. Now I can go off and test my fabric stash, I may need a gallon of bleach :O)
4/30/06 7:59 AM
MarilynB said...
I have never heard of this tip, only the burn test. What a great idea. Thanks.
4/29/06 6:39 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
The burn test is most usefule for single content fabrics. I am most grateful to get this option for blends. Thank you very much. I buy a lot of fabric in the Garment District and on eBay and frquently there is no fiber statement available. This will really help.
4/29/06 12:16 PM
Karla Kizer said...
What an interesting tip. Thank you! And now, the question....do I really want to know, or am I happier laboring under the illusion that it's wool? BTW - any idea how lycra reacts to bleach? I have some Lycra/wool/mystery fabric stuff.....
4/29/06 8:58 AM
Rhoda K said...
Thanks for the great tip. I, too, have some mystery stuff in my stash. One day I MAY learn to label things when I buy them.
4/28/06 1:18 PM
AndreaP said...
Great tip! I have a few mystery fabrics that I will test this way.
4/28/06 0:11 AM
MaryBeth said...
I can vouch, this is a great tip and can save lots of time and puzzlements. What I hadn't counted for in my wool puzzlements was a possible "coating" of something on the fabric. Hmmmmmm, explains a few things!
4/27/06 12:03 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

The Whimsy Bag

The Whimsy Bag

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.