SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Class Reviews > Shannon Gifford's Patternmaking Class

A PatternReview.com Class
Viewed 5434 times
Posted by: Miss Fairchild
photo

 
 
About Miss Fairchild starstarstarstar
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 132
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 53 people
classes reviewed: 4
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/3/06 8:32 AM
Rating: starstarstar
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
Web site/URL: Pattern Making With Shannon Gifford
I recently took this class and found it to be one of the best I have ever taken, online or otherwise. Shannon is an excellent and patient teacher, who has a wealth of knowledge. She helped me overcome my fear of patternmaking and almost immediately I started using her techniques with much success. She can take a piece of clothing apart and in very simple terms, show you how it's made. The homework assignments were fun and somewhat challenging. I especially liked the field trip. There aren't enough stars in the rating to indicate how excellent the class, and she as a teacher, were.

The only, and I mean only, problem with the class was due to the large size of the lessons, 1-2 megs, which contained many color digital photos. This seems to be Pattern Review's required format for a class and to me doesn't personally reflect on Shannon or her abilities.



<< Previous    Next >>

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
StitchQueen101 said...
I took a different class by Shannon Gifford and loved her teaching style. She is so dedicated. I didn't have time to take this class, but so hope it is offered again! Shame on me, I was in Church today and my mind wandered a bit, and I was sizing up an outfit some lady had on. PR has that effect on you!!!! PS I love your bio "took home ec when dinosaurs still roamed the earth" ROTHFLMBO You sound like a lot of fun!!!
5/7/06 1:28 PM
Annie- oh said...
Ditto, ditto, ditto all these praises for Shannon's teaching - and how it's changed my awareness - and confidence.
5/6/06 10:41 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
I made a jumper block from our slopers used in the class and the scoop neck gaped (I have a hollow chest as well as forward shoulders, etc.). With much trepidation, I put tucks in the neckline on the paper pattern after remembering our lesson about rotating darts and the sloper still fitting. It was just like Shannon said!
5/5/06 8:11 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
Liane, your comment about staring at people brought laughter because it is so true! I've been doing the same. Then I have to explain.....
5/5/06 8:00 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Ditto ditto ditto. This was an exceptional class. Shannon is a thorough, patient, and inspiring teacher. The lessons were clear and helpful, and the chats always fun and interesting. Things that were glossed over in the books I had read, finally clicked for me thanks to Shannon's interpretations. Two thumbs way up!!
5/4/06 1:46 PM
ryan's mom said...
I second BP's opinion of this stellar class! Ahhh...the freedom to create with less dependency on patterns :) .
5/4/06 9:00 AM
Liane M said...
I totally agree with your review. I now understand "how to" make changes to patterns to copy RTW styles. I no longer feel like I have to buy patterns. I can make my own. The only problem that I had with the class it that I find myself staring at people trying to figure out how to make what they are wearing. I always end up with a great reference book and the end as well.
5/4/06 6:21 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.