SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Class Reviews > Shannon Gifford's Patternmaking Class

A PatternReview.com Class
Viewed 5331 times
Posted by: Miss Fairchild
photo

 
 
About Miss Fairchild starstarstarstar
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 132
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 53 people
classes reviewed: 4
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/3/06 8:32 AM
Rating: starstarstar
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
Web site/URL: Pattern Making With Shannon Gifford
I recently took this class and found it to be one of the best I have ever taken, online or otherwise. Shannon is an excellent and patient teacher, who has a wealth of knowledge. She helped me overcome my fear of patternmaking and almost immediately I started using her techniques with much success. She can take a piece of clothing apart and in very simple terms, show you how it's made. The homework assignments were fun and somewhat challenging. I especially liked the field trip. There aren't enough stars in the rating to indicate how excellent the class, and she as a teacher, were.

The only, and I mean only, problem with the class was due to the large size of the lessons, 1-2 megs, which contained many color digital photos. This seems to be Pattern Review's required format for a class and to me doesn't personally reflect on Shannon or her abilities.



<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Liane M said...
I totally agree with your review. I now understand "how to" make changes to patterns to copy RTW styles. I no longer feel like I have to buy patterns. I can make my own. The only problem that I had with the class it that I find myself staring at people trying to figure out how to make what they are wearing. I always end up with a great reference book and the end as well.
5/4/06 6:21 AM
ryan's mom said...
I second BP's opinion of this stellar class! Ahhh...the freedom to create with less dependency on patterns :) .
5/4/06 9:00 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Ditto ditto ditto. This was an exceptional class. Shannon is a thorough, patient, and inspiring teacher. The lessons were clear and helpful, and the chats always fun and interesting. Things that were glossed over in the books I had read, finally clicked for me thanks to Shannon's interpretations. Two thumbs way up!!
5/4/06 1:46 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
Liane, your comment about staring at people brought laughter because it is so true! I've been doing the same. Then I have to explain.....
5/5/06 8:00 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
I made a jumper block from our slopers used in the class and the scoop neck gaped (I have a hollow chest as well as forward shoulders, etc.). With much trepidation, I put tucks in the neckline on the paper pattern after remembering our lesson about rotating darts and the sloper still fitting. It was just like Shannon said!
5/5/06 8:11 AM
Annie- oh said...
Ditto, ditto, ditto all these praises for Shannon's teaching - and how it's changed my awareness - and confidence.
5/6/06 10:41 AM
StitchQueen101 said...
I took a different class by Shannon Gifford and loved her teaching style. She is so dedicated. I didn't have time to take this class, but so hope it is offered again! Shame on me, I was in Church today and my mind wandered a bit, and I was sizing up an outfit some lady had on. PR has that effect on you!!!! PS I love your bio "took home ec when dinosaurs still roamed the earth" ROTHFLMBO You sound like a lot of fun!!!
5/7/06 1:28 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

Buy Now
8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.