SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > bobbin instead of an extra spool

Viewed 5369 times
Posted by: Trinity.
photo

 
 
About Trinity. starstar
MA USA
Member since: 10/9/05
Reviews written: 107
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
tips added: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/16/06 1:58 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 11 people   
This is probably obvious to many people, but I only just figured it out this winter.

I like to buy large spools of thread for economical reasons, but I also like to topstitch with double needles. Instead of buying two large spools, I buy just one and then wind a bobbin for the second needle.

Sometimes my thread spools are too big to fit conveniently on my machine, too. In that case, I wind two bobbins and use them both as if they were small spools.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
mrspenguin said...
I was just wondering if this could work. Glad to know it does!
5/31/06 10:38 AM
MarciaMoose said...
This is an excellent idea. And instead of buying 4 or 5 large spools of thread for the serger, just buy 1 spool of serger thread, and then wind your sewing bobbins with the serger thread and use as you would the other spools of serger thread.
5/29/06 10:49 AM
tlmck3 said...
It's also a good "fix" for those of us who don't have machines that have the "bobbin thread is about to run out" warning feature on older machines. Fill a 2nd bobbin and use that as the topthread and when THAT is about to run out, you know your bobbin is, too and you can stop and change both when it is convenient, not when you've gotten the nasty shock of running out of bobbin thread at an inopportune time.
5/21/06 4:21 AM
Red Clover said...
I've used bobbins for top thread as well. On my sewing machine however the bobbin would bounce so much (on the spool pin) that I'd end up w/ thread tangling .. sooo I remembered seeing teeny tiny cothespins, made of wood w/ a spring and everthing, at Michaels. I bought a 6 pack for 2 dollars. Now if I use a bobbin on the thread pin I just clip one of the little pins about an 1/8 inch above the bobbin. Solid as a rock.
5/20/06 0:19 AM
Mufffet said...
Also works on the one spool pin when you are just mending!
5/19/06 5:18 PM
Londa Rohlfing said...
All machines are different, but I find the very best tension for me (both horizontal riding thread spools) occurs when I use the SAME thing - including thread caps on each of the spindles. This means - either both bobbins, or both spools. Test for your particular situation is my conclusion.
5/17/06 7:26 AM
martinanne said...
I bought 100 extra bobbins so that I always have plenty. Sometimes, when I need an unusual color in my serger or coverstitch machine, I'll just use bobbins wound from a single spool so that I don't have to buy many spools of that unusual color. This is one of the most useful tips to every beginner!
5/17/06 0:41 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Petite Plus 601 Pattern

Petite Plus 601 Pattern

More Info
SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.