SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Removing hard to see stitching

Viewed 5175 times
Posted by: mrspenguin
photo

 
 
About mrspenguin star
CA
Member since: 12/29/05
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/31/06 10:45 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 8 people   Very Helpful by 22 people   
I made a major mistake on a white shirt with white thread--virtually impossible to see the stitching, much less rip *it* and not the shirt fabric. To make it more visible, I rubbed my blue tailor chalk up and down the stitching. This created some contrast and I was able to see what I was doing.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
I'll try your tip the next time I'm ripping black thread and black fabric. Thanks, that's ingenious!
5/31/06 3:23 PM
Sophiecat said...
I agree with Cathy - black on black is the worst! Now I understand why my mother HATED working on black as she got older. One way I have found to tackle something like this is to use LOTS of light, and wear both reading glasses AND a stereo magnifier such as an Optivisor (NAYY). Thanks for the tip - it should work just as well on black. Regards, Sophiecat
6/1/06 2:36 AM
hongkongshopper said...
clever!
6/1/06 5:09 AM
carolynw said...
Really good idea - I think we have all been caught on that more than once. Another little trick I have been using may also be helpful which is to use a bobbin thread that is just slightly different from the needle thread and fabric so in case of mistakes it is easy to see where to unpick.
6/1/06 9:26 AM
Jan B. said...
VERY good idea. Thank you for the tip. . .now to remember it at the appropriate time!!
6/1/06 1:54 PM
BeckyW said...
Very smart!!! Thanks for the tip.
6/2/06 11:29 PM
lindarkv said...
I am going to try this on my next black-on-black mistake!
6/24/06 10:41 PM
Bluebell said...
As time goes on I find it harder and harder to see stitches for ripping out... I will try this one the next time .. Thank you.
7/15/06 6:54 AM
vickie v. said...
This is a very good idea. It also works when satin stitching an applique.
9/14/06 3:16 PM
Sistah said...
I don't know how hard this is. Great tip. Will sure to use it in the future. Thanks
7/6/09 2:43 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern

SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.