SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Removing hard to see stitching

Viewed 5207 times
Posted by: mrspenguin
photo

 
 
About mrspenguin star
CA
Member since: 12/29/05
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/31/06 10:45 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 8 people   Very Helpful by 22 people   
I made a major mistake on a white shirt with white thread--virtually impossible to see the stitching, much less rip *it* and not the shirt fabric. To make it more visible, I rubbed my blue tailor chalk up and down the stitching. This created some contrast and I was able to see what I was doing.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
I'll try your tip the next time I'm ripping black thread and black fabric. Thanks, that's ingenious!
5/31/06 3:23 PM
Sophiecat said...
I agree with Cathy - black on black is the worst! Now I understand why my mother HATED working on black as she got older. One way I have found to tackle something like this is to use LOTS of light, and wear both reading glasses AND a stereo magnifier such as an Optivisor (NAYY). Thanks for the tip - it should work just as well on black. Regards, Sophiecat
6/1/06 2:36 AM
hongkongshopper said...
clever!
6/1/06 5:09 AM
carolynw said...
Really good idea - I think we have all been caught on that more than once. Another little trick I have been using may also be helpful which is to use a bobbin thread that is just slightly different from the needle thread and fabric so in case of mistakes it is easy to see where to unpick.
6/1/06 9:26 AM
Jan B. said...
VERY good idea. Thank you for the tip. . .now to remember it at the appropriate time!!
6/1/06 1:54 PM
BeckyW said...
Very smart!!! Thanks for the tip.
6/2/06 11:29 PM
lindarkv said...
I am going to try this on my next black-on-black mistake!
6/24/06 10:41 PM
Bluebell said...
As time goes on I find it harder and harder to see stitches for ripping out... I will try this one the next time .. Thank you.
7/15/06 6:54 AM
vickie v. said...
This is a very good idea. It also works when satin stitching an applique.
9/14/06 3:16 PM
Sistah said...
I don't know how hard this is. Great tip. Will sure to use it in the future. Thanks
7/6/09 2:43 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now
Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.