SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > A tip about invisible zips

Viewed 5587 times
Posted by: regine
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About regine star
SOUTH AFRICA
Member since: 9/26/05
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/3/06 5:21 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 16 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
I am a great fan of invisible zips and use the plastic foot to insert them. There was only one problem and that is often after inserting the zip there was a little fold at the end of the zip where the seam and the zip come together. This problem is easily solved if one inserts the zip before sewing up the seam.

Just to clarify this a bit. If for example you are using the zip at the back of a skirt insert the zip and then sew up the back seam, it works like a charm.

The special invisible zipper foot also doubles as an ordinary zipper foot? The plastic base slides over to either to side and allows one to sew right next to a bulky seam. You don't need to adjust the needle position at all.

click here

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Braemar said...
I love these concealed zippers, and find them easier than ordinary zippers to put in! I also do what Gorgeous Things describes above! Mary Anne
2/21/08 3:44 AM
Schnauzer said...
Thanks for this tip. I have unpicked an invisible zip three times this afternoon because of that horrid little fold that keeps appearing. I'm off to unpick the seam now and start again!
12/13/06 10:05 PM
Rosiemdosie said...
A useful tip I will try. Thank you.
8/22/06 12:49 PM
vasallese said...
I keep insisting I will put in an invisible zipper sometime. These hints hopefully will make it go easier. Thanks.
6/5/06 11:08 AM
regine said...
Did you know that the special invisible zipper foot also doubles as an ordinary zipper foot? The plastic base slides over to either to side and allows one to sew right next to a bulky seam. You don't need to adjust the needle position at all.
6/4/06 3:32 PM
Vonnevo said...
Agree too Regine. I also use the same needle position and zipper foot technique that Ann describes above.
6/4/06 5:19 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
I agree completely Regine. It also helps if you have a zipper foot and an adjustable needle position on your machine. I move the needle to the outermost position of the foot, and sew the seam up. The needle then comes right up to the line of stitching for the zipper. -Ann
6/3/06 6:03 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

More Info
You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.