SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Changing book binding to spiral binding

Viewed 5558 times
Posted by: martha
photo

 
 
About martha
OH USA
Member since: 10/27/02
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/29/03 4:59 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 11 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I didn't know you could have this done until I read Gigi's review of Fit for Real People where she suggested going to a Kinko's to have the book "debound" and "rebound" with spiral binding if you couldn't find a copy of it with the spiral binding.

I took my copies of Fit for Real People and The Ultimate Serger Answer Guide to my local copy place (not Kinko's) and it took five minutes to cut the old binding and rebind the books with metal spiral binding. It was $3.00 per book for the metal binding and $1.50 for the plastic spiral binding (think community cookbook). I prefer the metal and it still seemed a bargain at $3.00. This works great for any paperback book as long as they have the right size spiral binding. I'm probably going to do this to all of my paperback sewing books so they lie flat if I need to use them for reference as I sew.

Thanks Gigi for the great tip!


<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
regine said...
Great idea, it would be useful for recipe books as well, thanks.
6/12/06 3:42 PM
Thunderpaws said...
The other thing I've heard about doing is to have them laminate the cover & back pages, so they don't wear down over time. Also, one woman in the local ASG chapter had thecopy store add some blank typing paper to the back, so she could put in notes when she took classes. She had the manual for her sewing machine spiral bound. I just need to be able to part with mine long enough to have this done! LOL!
6/3/05 2:57 PM
sewforme said...
This is a great tip. I would never have thought of this!
10/22/04 7:56 PM
Diane Yaghoobian said...
I was so excited when I read this, I was telling everyone! I had no idea you could get this done. All the great quilting and sewing books are difficult to use because you have to prop them open. I took 5 books promptly over to the local Staples and got them spiral bound; it only cost $7. for all five. I'm so thrilled!
2/15/03 7:29 PM
Lou. said...
Wow, I used to do this at work, and never even thought about it! What a great tip!
1/30/03 3:22 PM
Robin L said...
I have done this with several of my books - works great!!
1/30/03 3:21 PM
Loreli said...
Thanks for this tip Martha
1/30/03 7:07 AM
eleda said...
Martha, thanks for sharing this great tip.
1/29/03 11:57 PM
els said...
martha what a great tip thanks
1/29/03 8:12 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.