SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Computer Screen as Sewing Prompt

Viewed 5132 times
Posted by: LaurieEm
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About LaurieEm
CO USA
Member since: 10/4/03
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/2/06 11:57 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 11 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
I was fooling around the other day and did this, having no idea how much it would inspire me to action. All I did was save a picture of the pattern illustration as my desktop background. This is very easy to do, and to change.

I plan to do this, changing the pattern picture as I work on different projects. I find it makes me more likely to find time to work on my project. A new definition of "nag screen."

I'm sure it is easy on non-Windows systems, but I can't tell you how to do it there. On Windows, surf to a nice big picture on the online pattern catalog, put your cursor over the picture, right click. You'll have a list of optional actions, including one like "set as desktop background" or "set as background".

If you decide you hate the change, right click on your desktop, find Properties (or Desktop Properties) and Background.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Mirza said...
Cool idea!
7/2/06 3:06 PM
Kathy in NM said...
Nice idea - it should inspire!
7/2/06 4:31 PM
PVA said...
Waaayyy Cool!
7/3/06 0:13 AM
Patzee said...
Whoa...terrific idea!
7/3/06 4:41 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Wow, what a brilliant idea. I must do this. It will complement the words "Food Not Fabric" which are my screen saver after I spent so much on fabric last month that I had two weeks left at the end of the paycheck.
7/3/06 7:18 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Now I can really drive my family crazy with sewing. Cool idea.
7/19/06 11:39 PM
OP Gal said...
Great idea. Plus, you can anticipate and savor the idea of sewing your next project.
7/20/06 4:59 PM
AnneM said...
Hmm. Maybe I'll make a gif file with my various pattern pics rotating through... I don't know if it would be good or drive me crazy. :)
8/2/06 4:43 PM
Nancywin said...
Mac users - go to iphoto and select picture. Click on "share" in the toolbar. Click on "desktop" and it will automatically go to your screen!
8/24/06 7:12 PM
Vajie said...
Or for macs, simply go to System Prefs in your Apple menu and select "Desktop & Screen Saver" to choose your image. This way you can also set your screensaver to sewing pictures. ^^
10/18/06 3:55 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.