SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Computer Screen as Sewing Prompt

Viewed 5158 times
Posted by: LaurieEm
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About LaurieEm
CO USA
Member since: 10/4/03
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/2/06 11:57 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 11 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
I was fooling around the other day and did this, having no idea how much it would inspire me to action. All I did was save a picture of the pattern illustration as my desktop background. This is very easy to do, and to change.

I plan to do this, changing the pattern picture as I work on different projects. I find it makes me more likely to find time to work on my project. A new definition of "nag screen."

I'm sure it is easy on non-Windows systems, but I can't tell you how to do it there. On Windows, surf to a nice big picture on the online pattern catalog, put your cursor over the picture, right click. You'll have a list of optional actions, including one like "set as desktop background" or "set as background".

If you decide you hate the change, right click on your desktop, find Properties (or Desktop Properties) and Background.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Vajie said...
Or for macs, simply go to System Prefs in your Apple menu and select "Desktop & Screen Saver" to choose your image. This way you can also set your screensaver to sewing pictures. ^^
10/18/06 3:55 AM
Nancywin said...
Mac users - go to iphoto and select picture. Click on "share" in the toolbar. Click on "desktop" and it will automatically go to your screen!
8/24/06 7:12 PM
AnneM said...
Hmm. Maybe I'll make a gif file with my various pattern pics rotating through... I don't know if it would be good or drive me crazy. :)
8/2/06 4:43 PM
OP Gal said...
Great idea. Plus, you can anticipate and savor the idea of sewing your next project.
7/20/06 4:59 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Now I can really drive my family crazy with sewing. Cool idea.
7/19/06 11:39 PM
yorkshire lass said...
Wow, what a brilliant idea. I must do this. It will complement the words "Food Not Fabric" which are my screen saver after I spent so much on fabric last month that I had two weeks left at the end of the paycheck.
7/3/06 7:18 AM
Patzee said...
Whoa...terrific idea!
7/3/06 4:41 AM
PVA said...
Waaayyy Cool!
7/3/06 0:13 AM
Kathy in NM said...
Nice idea - it should inspire!
7/2/06 4:31 PM
Mirza said...
Cool idea!
7/2/06 3:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

More Info
Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.