SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Sew in your underwear

Viewed 5199 times
Posted by: jbrewer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About jbrewer star
PA USA
Member since: 2/13/06
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
tips added: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/4/06 9:27 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 13 people   
Featured in the PR book!
Recently, Liana reminded us all how important it is to try on your garments throughout the construction process. I totally agree. But it can become tedious after each seam to undress, try on the item, and get dressed again. Your hair gets messed up, make-up soils your top, and it feels like a chore.

The solution is simple -- don't get dressed! I had the luxury recently of being home alone with time to sew all day long. I was trying a couple of new patterns for the first time so there was a lot of measuring and fitting going on. I decided to close the blinds in my sewing room and sew in my undies. It was great! I was much more motivated to try it on every step of the way and things seemed to go a lot faster.

I realize the opportunity may be rare to run around in your undies at home if you share the house with others. If so, there are still some things you can do to make it easier. For example, consider what item you're sewing and dress accordingly. If making a top, wear a blouse that buttons in the front. It's easy to slip on and off and you only need to close one button to keep your modesty till the next fitting. Meanwhile, your hair and make up stay in place. If making bottoms, I recommend wearing pull on pants. They're easy off - easy on and comfortable to boot. Speaking of boots... don't wear them. Slip on shoes are fine but barefoot is best IMHO. (perhaps I've given this way too much thought?)

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


15 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
squirrellypoo said...
I usually just wear a close-fitting tanktop and try on dresses and tops over top. You know, just in case someone comes to the door! :)
7/21/06 12:05 PM
Mini said...
My sewing skimpies are a swimsuit in summer, or a leotard. Somehow, you are considered "dressed" in a swimsuit or leotard, and undressed in underwear that shows the same amount of skin:)! I keep pull-on pants or shorts handy in case I have to answer the doorbell.
7/13/06 2:09 PM
brrmm said...
I occassionaly do this too. But recently got busted by the builders next door !! Now I'm a bit more careful. ha ha
7/12/06 10:49 PM
Maliboo_Barbie said...
Gee, I LIKE getting dressed and undressed 15 times an hour! What's wrong with you people?! ROFL!! I need to make one of those 'shift' things. I get busy fitting and forget that people passing by can see IN. Privacy, please! I'm trying to make a skirt in here!!
7/10/06 1:32 PM
Liana said...
Oh yes, I often sew in my underwear too! (Doesn't everyone?) I usually have one of DH's old shirts to slip on if it's chilly, but buttonfront anything is good when it's going to be on and off all the time.
7/6/06 10:45 PM
Learn To Sew said...
Mary, sounds like you wear a Duster for sewing. Me too. Snaps down the front wiht short sleeves and patch pockets. The kind old ladies (not us, mind you) wear. They are really great if you want comfort and easy to get into and out of for trying on clothes.
7/6/06 3:13 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Sometimes I do this and sometimes I wear what us old fogies use to call a "housedress" or "housecoat". It just a loose fitting dress with buttons up the front, short sleeves, etc. Easy to get on and off - just unbutton a few buttons slip it down and away we go. I agree with this idea.
7/5/06 7:24 PM
Learn To Sew said...
I usually sew this way, depending on what I am making and the temp. If I am making pants and it is not hot outside, sweats are fine. If it is hot outside, shorts or my summer robe which is snap down the front. Easy on and off. I am much more likely to continue sewing if I can easily get undressed/redressed. I'm glad to know I am not alone in sewing this way.
7/5/06 6:16 PM
Rhoda K said...
I sew that way every chance I get and it's great, especially during the summer heat.
7/5/06 12:58 PM
GibsonGirl said...
Funny. I was just telling DH the other night that I preferred to sew in my undies because I could easily slip the dress that I was making on and off. He looked at me askance, so I thought I must be the only person that thought this was a good idea. Apparently not!
7/5/06 12:01 PM
Mufffet said...
HAHAHHHA...oh this is great! After getting my copy of the 1949 Singer Sewing Book, and being reminded to "dress nicely....apply your cosmetics and lipstick" etc....HAHAHHAHHAA...
7/5/06 10:13 AM
Annie- oh said...
No - you haven't given this too much thought! Great ideas and fun. Just be mindful: I came close to answering the door when my top was a bra and Sharon Gifford's little bib, the start of a muslin...oh
7/5/06 9:31 AM
Stitchology said...
Good idea, and if it's not quite doable you can just wear a robe for quick on and off. Just one question: if you don't even need clothes why do you need makeup?
7/5/06 8:32 AM
mezzobean said...
I do this, too, and it really does help!
7/5/06 8:13 AM
jr said...
Great ideas! It really is a pain to repeatedly undress and dress again...maybe having a slip-on dress or even a robe handy would be a good idea- just in case the doorbell rings! Judy
7/5/06 0:14 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

More Info
Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants

Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.